Sentiments & Reason – Blurb and Sneak Peek

S&R..3 - Copy

© 2016 Dilyana Kyoseva All Rights Reserved

Blurb:

“Dad’s gone,” my cousin’s voice was barely above a whisper. “You must come home for the Evaluations,” she uttered and the phone line went dead.

*****

After Keri’s Uncle – the Alpha of the Silver Bullets pack – loses his battle with cancer, the young woman is summoned away from University and back home to take part in the Evaluations – a series of challenges that would help determine who would take on the role of the new leader.

Once the responsibility of caring for over a hundred werewolves falls on Keri, she must stay with her pack in Woodbury, relinquishing her lifelong dream of becoming a lawyer. The young female soon discovers that her new position is even more demanding than she’d always thought it would be, but she is determined to prove herself and justify the trust placed on her. Respected for her good judgment, physical abilities and compassion, the twenty-four year old lacks in one of the most important aspects an Alpha could: she has yet to choose a mate, or so the pack thinks.

Little do they know, Keri has already recognized the man to bear that title, but deciding that his personality and lifestyle would prove detrimental to her wards, she gives up on another dream: the dream of being with someone she could confide in and always depend on. With an unknown enemy determined to ruin the Silver Bullets, never before had Keri needed that man as much as she does now. Things only get worse when he somewhat reluctantly offers his help; now Keri must fight not only the pack’s foe, but also herself as she’s forced to work with the person her heart desires, but her mind does not approve of.

S&R..3 - Copy (2)

Sneak Peek:

Some people suggested I took the Journey, that I travel without direction, led only by my intuition.

We didn’t know how we were paired, yet many believed that we were destined to find a soul mate – even though some never did – and that Fate or some other great force would eventually make sure we’d cross paths, if only we would follow our instincts. Rhys was considering taking the Journey the weeks before he met Riley; he was thinking about closing his eyes, pointing to an open map and heading in the direction of where his finger fell. And if during his travels he felt like changing direction, he would.

That wouldn’t work for me for two reasons: one – as an Alpha I shouldn’t be away from my pack for long so this was not a good choice even if two – I hadn’t already recognized my mate.

I often pondered on why he of all people would be chosen by any divine being to be my soul mate and I still couldn’t come up with even a vaguely logical answer.

The mate was supposed to respect you and that man patronized me; they were supposed to provide comfort and support in harsh times and he provided only criticism; they were supposed to show you love, to act as if you were the most important person in the world, and I was sure he didn’t even like me.

The worst part?

He was human.

The werewolf/human pairing worked for my Beta and his soul mate even though the latter couldn’t feel the mate bond, but I doubted the same would happen with me and…

“Keri?” My cousin’s voice was followed by the sound of a knock. “Can I come in?”

“Sure.” I closed the paper folder and rubbed my temples – my nails scratched the frame of my reading glasses – as I tried to erase both the thoughts of my mate and the gruesome pictures from the crime scenes.

“Anything new at the station?” I asked when Kelly walked in; she had yet to take off her police uniform and change into civilian clothing.

She shook her head.

Great!

We were nowhere closer to catching the shifter who not only murdered innocent humans, but was trying to pin their heinous acts on my pack.

You can read two other Sentiments & Reason sneak peeks here and here. And if you want to read about Rhys and Riley who are mentioned here – read my We are the Answer on Wattpad.

16 thoughts on “Sentiments & Reason – Blurb and Sneak Peek

  1. I can’t wait to read the rest of it! 😀

    Keri is a great character, who is very relatable, especially on the point of unachieved dreams, which I think everyone has.

    Personally, it sounds to me like Keri’s over-reacting a bit with how this guy’s treating her. I mean, sure, his behaviour is a bit childish, but it’s typical teenage-guy-with-a-crush behaviour. I think he likes her really. Then again, we’ve only seen a snippet of their relationship.

    I really want to find out who it is, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “we’ve only seen a snippet of their relationship”, but “I really want to find out who it is” – don’t you already know/guess who her mate is?

      As I mentioned in the latest We are the Answer chapter, this is my NaNoWriMo project so there will be at least one (maybe more) sneak peek from Sentiments & Reason before the end of this month. I wrote a bit today, but with so many wattpad and blog updates, I doubt I’ll be able to finish the book in November.

      Like

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

