Wattpad: should you post the naughty bits of your story as a new book?

DeathtoStock_Clementine2_part_text.2

When I was writing my second wattpad story – Here We Go Again, I was faced with a dilemma: should I write the spicier chapters I wanted to write thus changing the book rating to Mature or should I stick to PG-13?

Here We Go Again was intended for PG-13. Almost all of it is PG-13. Then there are those couple of chapters that I wanted to create, but were meant for an adult audience.

So what did I do?

I uploaded a new book called Here We Go Again – Restricted and post the R-rated content in it.

Why that worked for me?

First of all, there’s something you must know about the chapters in HWGA-R: they are short and written as scenes which you can skip without missing out on the plot. That way those of my readers who are uncomfortable with that type of content, could peruse only Here We Go Again and keep up with what’s going on.

And that is Reason #1 as to why Here We Go Again – Restricted worked for me.

Reason #2 for why that story didn’t get lost amongst the millions of others on wattpad was because each time I posted a new chapter in it, I posted a new part of Here We Go Again as well and that part consisted of an author’s note that roughly went along the lines of:

“This chapter is intended for a mature audience and is therefore posted in Here We Go Again – Restricted. You can find a link to it in the comments and as an external link. The chapter is just a scene of adult activity and can be skipped without you missing out on the plot.”

Here’s a little trick: give the chapters in your non-adult-oriented book and their mature counterpart the same title; that way it will be easier for people to know which chapter they are supposed to read.

Example:

Book: Here We Go Again – Chapter: CHAPTER EIGHT – First Restricted Chapter (where the author note is)

Book: Here We Go Again – Restricted – Chapter: CHAPTER EIGHT – First Restricted Chapter (where the actual chapter is)

Downsides of posting mature content as a different book:

  • People are lazy. If they are not dedicated to your story and characters, they might think:

sleeping-69414_640.text_skip

  • People get irritated easily.

cat-694407_640.text_annoying

  • People are lazy and yes, I know I wrote this before, but this is another lazy. They might not even bother reading your author’s note; as soon as they see this isn’t a chapter, they might close your book and wait for the next update.
  • Someone always can’t find the story.

search

I’ve given a link to HWGA-R in the comments on several HWGA chapters, as an external link and I’ve included the book in several reading lists, one of them entitled Here We Go Again-related stories. I still get comments about how someone can’t find the book.

So what are the benefits in posting the mature content as a new book?

  • You won’t have to change the rating on your current story and if you do it like me – write the adult-oriented chapters as scenes that can be skipped – you won’t lose the readers who are uncomfortable with mature content.
  • The mature parts are often a form of fan service (something done specifically to please the fans). You want to keep your story clean, but you also wish to fulfill your readers’ desire for naughty time?

Post naughty time as a new book!

  • Sometimes people are searching specifically for mature content. If they stumble on the adult counterpart and like it, they might read the original (PG/PG-13) book.

Tip #1: In the summary/blurb of your adult book write something like: “The chapters are written in such a way that you can read them as a collection of one-shots even without having read *Title of PG-13 Book*“. This way people will know two things: one – you have another book they might be interested in, and two – they can read the M-rated book even though they don’t know who the characters are.

Tip #2: Give a link to your PG-13 story in the comments to your R-rated/M-rated one so it will be easier for people to find it.

Will I be splitting a story into two differently-rated books again?

Yes. As a matter of fact, I’m doing so this week.

Due to popular demand, I’m writing an R-rated chapter with Rhys and Riley from my Dogs, Bats & Monkeys Series. You can read about how that went here.

• • What about you? Have you split your book into mature and non-mature? • •

• • Anything else you want to know on this topic or about wattpad? • •

• • Ask in the comments and I’ll reply as soon as I can! • •

YATA_ADJFU_WATA_S&R

If you are interested in the Dogs, Bats & Monkeys Series:

  • We are the Answer will be what I take on after I’m done with YATA. You can see its cover and read the blurb and a sneak peek HERE.
  • Sentiments & Reason. Unlike YATA and WATA, this story doesn’t revolve around Rhys and Riley; it’s about their friend Keri and her struggles as the Silver Bullets Alpha. Cover, blurb and sneak peek are available HERE.

I hope you are having a great day/night, you funky monkeys!

One thought on “Wattpad: should you post the naughty bits of your story as a new book?

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

