Author Interview with Nicolette Andrews (Akatsuki and Thornwood Series)

Kitsune_Book_One_Tales_of_Akatsuki

Q1: Hi, Nicolette! How are you today?

Hi, Dilyana, thanks so much for interviewing me for your blog. I’m fabulous today.

Q2: Tell us about yourself and how you started writing.

I’ve been writing since I was little, I used to make children’s books with terrible illustrations about a character called Mrs. Triangle and I wrote (bad) poetry in middle school. In high school I wrote mostly incomplete novels. I’ve always had a love of the written word so I think that’s what got me started.

Q3: What kind of audience would enjoy your books?

I like to pretend that anyone can enjoy my books but there’s a lot of romantic subplots and my audience is predominately female as of right now. But I write adult novels, the non-sexy kind.

Q4: What are you working on now and when will it be available?

I’m currently working on the second book of the Dragon Saga. If all goes according to plan, it should be out by Christmas, you know, unless I procrastinate too much or something terrible happens. But I don’t foresee that happening.

Q5: Are you planning any promotions or giveaways soon?

I have a couple of promos! Kitsune, my most recent release is 99 cents from now until October. And a group of authors and I are doing a huge group sale September 1-7; it’s all 99 cent and free books.

Q6: What obstacles did you face when publishing?

For me, being self-published, the biggest obstacle was just figuring out what the heck I was doing at first. I made a ton of mistakes when I first published, everything from cover to the formating. I’ve learned a lot since, and now use professionals for EVERYTHING.

Q7: Traditional or self-publishing and why?

I decided to self-publish because I wanted more creative control. I’m a little bit of an independent spirit and I wanted to choose my cover, my story, etc. At first it was really hard but now with eight titles under my belt, I feel much more confident.

Q8: Any advice to writers who might be reading this?

Keep writing! That is my favorite piece of advice to give. It so easy to get discouraged by your family, reviews online, or even feedback from beta readers. But if you just keep pushing through the middle muddles and keep writing everyday it is so worth it. It can be painful at times but having someone tell you they love the story you told makes all the pain seem like nothing.

Q9: Where can people find you? 

I’m all over but here are the usual places:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicolette-Andrews/466873950016197

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Nicandfantasy

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/Nicandfantasy/

Website: www.fantasyauthornicoletteandrews.com

My reviews on books by this author:

Have you read anything by Nicolette?

Which book was it and what did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

 

7 thoughts on “Author Interview with Nicolette Andrews (Akatsuki and Thornwood Series)

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

