My #1 Writing Tip for the Times You are Stuck

#1_Writing_Tip_title

(The idea of this post came to me when I was implementing this tip for one of my ongoing wattpad stories. I thought it was something really useful and decided to share it with you.)

Can’t write a blurb?

Having a problem coming up with characters?

Don’t know where the plot is going?

The inspiration for the story is no longer there?

I have one thing that I do and helps me solve all of those problems: I talk about my story.

Yes, it is that simple!

Even if you are too shy to speak about your creation or don’t want to disclose details of your WIP (Work In Progress), you can still talk about your story with yourself. I like to turn off the lights, turn on some music, pace around my room and discuss my WIP with myself. There is a trick with this though: you have to imagine that you are telling the plot and introducing the characters to someone who knows nothing of your book.

Why is that?

Because it will show you what is most important about your story and what it is lacking.

  • Try to briefly give the basics of the plot – here’s your blurb!
  • Talk about what has already happened, what you plan to do with that and what else you can do – here’s your plot!
  • What you like most and least about a character and why they are doing what they are doing? This will help you with character development!

Everything you say about your book to a real or an imaginary person who knows nothing about it will help you improve it.

It will raise new questions, it will give you new ideas… Know what else?

Talking about your story will get you all hyped up about it once again.

So yes, this can help when you are lacking inspiration.

Try it for yourself and see!

Seriously, I dare you.

After you do, you are welcome to come back to this post and comment to tell us how it went for you.

If you found this tip useful, please support this post by clicking on the Like button!

4 thoughts on “My #1 Writing Tip for the Times You are Stuck

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

