Author Interview with Leah Crichton (Celebrity Status, Before Sunday)

Leah Crichton

Today, I’m interviewing Leah Crichton, author of Celebrity Status, Harlequin’s SYTYCW semi-finalist Before Sunday, 1/4 of the wattpad4, and fan-fiction guru. Or at least that’s what I’ve labeled her as when, during this interview, I found out about some amazing achievements of hers.

Q1: Hi, Leah! How are you today?

Hello, Lovely! I’m doing pretty well, thank you. I’ll be better once I locate some strong coffee.
Q2: Tell us about yourself and how you started writing.

Well, I’m a GIS map geek by day, writer by night. I live in Canada and spend 3/4 of my life in a parka. I have an unhealthy obsession with music, coffee, and lipgloss, not to mention swoon-worthy fictional boys! I also LOVE vintage things, Disneyland, changing my hair colour as often as some people change their moods, and the tale of Peter Pan. I’ve written for as long as I can remember. Honestly, I can recall writing (and illustrating) a harrowing tale of a duck in Kindergarten that my teacher proudly laminated and coiled. In the seventh grade a short story I wrote was ‘published’ in a book for the school. As a teenager, I wrote mostly poetry. My mom passed away in 2006 and it kind of opened my eyes to how finite our time can be, so I wrote my first completed novel that year and haven’t looked back since.

Q3: Any big achievements that you are proud of? 

Sure! I’m the author of the only ‘official’ fan fiction for One Direction. I was commissioned by Sony Music in 2013 to write the piece. The entire experience has been nothing but rewarding for me and it kind of catapulted me into this crazy world that I never knew existed. Being a music lover though, I can absolutely appreciate the passion that exists. Following that, I was also commissioned to write the only official fan fictions for X-factor’s Emblem3. Another incredible experience because I was fortunate enough to work directly with the band and got their input and direct support. I’ve also written for AwesomeInkTV and the Canadian Hemophilia Society in the first of its kind campaign to bring social awareness to bleeding disorders via storytelling.

I’m both proud and honoured to have been given each and every one of these opportunities.
Q4: Oh, wow, that is very impressive! I know that your book Before Sunday is a semi-finalist in Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest on Wattpad. Would you tell us about the contest, your book and how we can support it?

Well, tell the readers of this post since I already know about this and I voted for your pitch. Seriously, funky monkeys, it’s a really good pitch, so check it out!

The So You Think You Can Write contest takes place annually on Wattpad. Romance writers across all sub-genres enter their stories for the chance to win a two book deal from Harlequin Books. The first round of the contest takes all of the official entries and the Harlequin editors narrow the competitors to the top 50. The 50 then move on to the next round (this is where I’m at right now) and based on votes alone for the story pitch, the top 25 move on.

The editors then pick their top 10 stories to move on again at which point the entire manuscript is open to the voting public. In the end, the public holds the fate of the winning entry.

Before Sunday tells the story of Lola Daniels, who, on her 21st birthday is gifted a magic cupcake from her best friend, Xavier. Lola wishes for a love ‘so deep it hurts.’ The next morning, she comes face to face with Jackson Sunday — an absurdly gorgeous man who claims to be her husband— ten years in the future. Jackson tells Lola he’s there because she wished for him. Lola cannot bring herself to entertain Jackson’s crazy theories and dismisses him as fast as he arrived. Problem is, Lola got precisely what she wished for and whenever Jackson is away, she begins to get sick. It doesn’t take long for Lola to realize she needs Jax but there’s a complication, her best friend and the giver of the cupcake, who claims he’s loved her all along.

Before Sunday by Leah Crichton - quote

Readers can help me in the competition by following this link and voting for the chapter Part One: Pitch.

Q5: So, Leah, why is this contest so important to you? If you could choose, would you go for traditional or self-publishing and why?

This contest is super important to me because the winner is given a two book deal. Writers spend years and years dreaming, hoping, praying, wishing on the non-magical kind of cupcakes for this to come true. As for traditional vs self, I’d ideally like to be a hybrid author at some point; that way I can experience, benefit and learn from the best of both worlds.

Q6: Any advice to writers who might be reading this?

Advice? Keep writing. Never stop writing. Do it like you breathe. Don’t ever lose that passion, even when you’re at that phase where you’ve read your book 8,000,000 times and are filled with self-loathing, don’t give up. The world needs words, books and escapes hand crafted by people just like you.

Q7: Where can people find you?

At any or all of these places:

Q8: Thank you for doing this interview!

Thank you for having me! I really appreciate it! It was so much fun.

If you want to meet the rest of the Wattpad4 girls, you can do so here:

 

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

