What I Think about Hustle by Ashley Claudy

Hustle by Ashley Claudy

Hustle by Ashley Claudy

Genres: Romance, Sports

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

South Eastern University: where the football players are royalty and Andrew Fayden is king.

College was supposed to be Brook’s chance to escape the rumors and the harassment that plagued her at home, but she hadn’t planned on meeting Andrew Fayden.

Now, she’s finding it hard to think of anything else or anyone else. She’s determined to wipe him from her mind though because he is the definition of unavailable. He’s got an on and off again girlfriend always on the sidelines and a flood of girls willing to take over that position.

And his popularity makes it hard to keep a low profile, something she needs to do if she doesn’t want to be pulled back into the drama of her past.

Despite all the warnings, she’s finding it hard to resist – and he’s making it hard to say no.

What I think of the book:

It was very difficult for me to review this book not because I didn’t enjoy it, but because I went through such an array of emotions while reading it that it’s hard to put them down in a brief review and that’s what the What I thing about… section is for: short reviews. That being said, I’ll try, funky monkeys, I’ll try.

Ashley Claudy is my new favorite romantic suspense author. Okay, I didn’t have a favorite one before and she didn’t work herself up to the top of My Favorite Writers list simply because I don’t have such a list, but if I did, she’d be in it. I loved her Outside The Ropes and now I am loving her Hustle.

But let’s start from the beginning, shall we?

Because that’s when you get on the emotional rollercoaster – right at the very beginning of the first chapter. Now, I’m attempting to keep my reviews as spoiler free as possible, but let me just say that even I felt embarrassed and blushed at the first scene where the female lead – Brook, makes a fool of herself. Maybe it’s because I can relate a great deal to this character – she wants fun, she wants to try out new things, but at the same time, apart from all things Andrew Fayden-related, she is a reasonable girl who doesn’t want part in the college drama.

On the other hand, Andrew (Drew to his friends) is a total jerk for at least the first third of the book and I found myself shouting to Brook “Just punch him already!” several times. I admit, he gets some brownie points for telling her that he doesn’t want a relationship, that he just wants to f… erm, bed her; I mean, at least he’s honest about it.

Quote from Hustle by Ashley Claudy

The frustration for me came from the fact that throughout a large portion in the book, we saw Brook falling deeper and deeper in love with him, while he kept mistreating her. No self-respecting human being should go through that; I really have no idea how she put up with him for so long. But then we got to see the softer side of Drew and I was like “Okay… Maybe he’s worth it.”

But even though the male lead pissed me off for a long time, I still liked both characters and I loved his character development more than hers. There were also some things that made me go “Oh, my God, I did not expect that!” and that is always good in a book or movie. And don’t even let me get started on the subplots and how well they are woven together; this review is getting too long already.

Just one last thing that somewhat threw me off – the timing. Some events are a bit off like the water in the kettle boiling when the characters have exchanged only two sentences between them (not that it ruins the pace of the story) or all police cars arriving at once along with an ambulance although one police car was dispatched earlier. But! I am reviewing an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) so in the published version of this book those things might be fixed.

Who I would recommend this book to?

I’d recommend Hustle to all fans of not-too-cheesy romance and who have patience because although I loved this book there were several moments when I had to put it down to mentally fight with the characters. Too much going back and forth in their relationship, but hey, this is romantic suspense; we got to keep the suspense going. Also, there’s strong language and a lot of naughty time going on so keep that in mind.

My rating: football football football football football (5 out of 5 football balls)

Would I re-read this book? Yes. Most definitely yes. And probably soon.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

Note: The links will take you to the book, not just amazon.

Want to know a little bit about Ashley? Read the interview she gave me in August!

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

And lastly, do you want some exclusive content such as the POV of the male leads in Hustle and Outside The Ropes? Ashley has written some chapters from Drew’ and Gage’s POV-s and is sending them to those who sign up for her newsletter. As one such person, I can tell you she doesn’t spam.

Have you read Hustle?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

5 thoughts on “What I Think about Hustle by Ashley Claudy

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

