Last Minute NaNoWriMo Tips

Last Minute NaNoWriMo Tips by Dilyana Kyoseva (CatMint5 on wattpad)

Hey, funky monkeys! I’ve decided to write a list with a few easy-to-follow tips that would hopefully give you the push you need and help you finish the 50K challenge on time. As I was writing these, I realized that they could apply to your creative process out of NaNo as well, especially when you are on a time limit or at a loss of inspiration.

➞ Write now, edit later. This is especially useful if you are falling behind. Sit down and write whatever comes to mind; don’t even spell check, just let the words flow.

➞ Remember how in What the First Week of NaNoWriMo has Taught Me I told you to aim for the achievements on nanowrimo.org? Well, why not set your own rewards?

  • If I write 1 000 words today, I’d treat myself to my favorite snack.
  • If I manage 2 000, I’ll get popcorn and a soda and watch a movie.
  • If I reach my weekly goal, I’ll buy that tea/coffee/wine I love, but don’t often purchase as it is expensive or I’ll buy a new book for my Kindle library.

➞ Stuck? Read a book/short story or watch a movie in the genre you are writing in and make a list of what you liked and disliked about it. Apply the likes and avoid the dislikes when you work on your own story.

➞Change your routine. Sometimes doing something as simple as changing the usual time you write at might prove beneficial to your creativity and concentration.

Writing early in the morning? Sleep in this Sunday and write in the afternoon or evening instead.

Getting stressed through the day because you know you have to write after dinner? Well, this is a no-brainer – just sit down and type your daily word count in the morning.

➞Listen to others talk about their books; their enthusiasm could be contagious. There are so many places where you could do this: forums (on wattpad, on the NaNoWriMo site), in facebook groups, on twitter… There is a group of writers out there that you’ll feel right at home with; you just have to search for them.

For more writing tips, don’t forget to also check out My #1 Writing Tip for the Times You are Stuck and the Tuesday Tiny Writing Tips series that are in the Writing Tips & Prompts section of the blog.

So what is your advice for NaNo?

Have you completed the 50K challenge?

Do you have your own rewards system?

Share in the comments and GOOD LUCK WITH NANOWRIMO!

6 thoughts on “Last Minute NaNoWriMo Tips

      1. It was about a daycare instructor who indirectly sacrifices the life of one of the children in her care so she can run away from a monster. She ends up crawling her way into the monster’s dimension while she was running away. Through a series of trials, she faces her inner demons and eventually returns home stronger. I based it on heroic epic poems but I wanted to use a hero that a modern audience could relate too.

        Liked by 1 person

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

