The Twelve Days of Christmas Writing Prompts – Day 6

The Twelve Days of Christmas Writing Prompts - Day 6

Do you have a favorite Christmas ornament?

☞ Write a story with this scenario:

“I’m sorry. I know how much you loved it.”

“That’s okay.” She shrugged, still not looking at me. Crouched down, she picked another of the larger pieces to throw in the trash bin.

“Is there anything I can do?”

“You’ve done enough.” There was an edge to her voice. She sighed and turned towards me. “I’m sorry. It’s just…”

“Your mom gave you that ornament the first time you decorated the Christmas tree on your own.” I sat on the floor next to her, careful to avoid the shards. “You already told me. That’s why I know how important the glass reindeer was to you, baby.” I caressed her jaw with my thumb. “I can’t fix it, but I’ll find a way to make it up to you. That’s a promise.”

☞ Questions to help you write:

– What could the guy do to try and make it up to his girlfriend?

– Will he even try or is he giving empty promises?

– If he tries, will he succeed?

– If he fails, will the girl forgive him anyway? If so, would that be because she appreciates the effort?

☞ If you use this prompt and post your story online, feel free to give a link to it in the comments!

Don’t forget to check out the other prompts in the series!

11 thoughts on “The Twelve Days of Christmas Writing Prompts – Day 6

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

