What I Think about Frost by Erin Latimer

FROST cover_Erin Latimer

Frost by Erin Latimer

Genres: Fantasy, Norse Mythology

December – winter, snow, cold… What better time to review a book about frost giants?

Blurb:

Megan Walker’s touch has turned to ice. She can’t stop the frost, and the consequences of her first kiss are horrifying.

When her new powers attract attention, Megan finds herself caught up in an ancient war between Norse giants. One side fuelled by a mad queen’s obsession and an ancient prophecy about Ranorak, the other by an age-old grudge. Both sides believe Megan to be something she’s not. Both sides will stop at nothing to have her.

Fire or frost. It’s an impossible decision, but she’ll have to act soon, because the storm is coming.

What I think of the book:

This book took me by surprise for three reasons.

One, I thought I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the mythology included in it. Turns out, yes, there is mythology, but there are maybe a dozen terms linked to Norse legends and you probably already heard of some of them so you won’t have to pause for a visit to good old Google that much.

Two, this story includes some very real, very in-our-world issues that I did not expect it to have. I’m talking about bullying and racism. Now, you might be wondering how and even why a fantasy story would incorporate that. I know I did not anticipate to see that in Frost – it’s why it caught me off guard – but when you have humans, frost giants, fire giants and half-breeds… Yep, I should’ve seen that one coming.

“Do not mock me.” His voice went low and threatening. “Ever. Do you understand, half-breed?”

Megan and her friends are only half-frost giants and therefore scorned by many fool-blooded ones due to their half-human heritage. Not to mention that frost and fire giants aren’t the best of pals and don’t exactly speak fondly of each other.

As for the bullying part: that derives not only from Megan’s genetic background, but also from her rather uncanny resemblance to a certain somebody who was a big deal in the giants’ world… I won’t say any more on this matter though as I don’t want to give any big spoilers.

Moving on to reason three as to why this book was so different from what I imagined it would be: the slow romance. Well, that’s a bit debatable as when you speak in terms of time – no, not much time passes, but when you speak in terms of chapters and what’s going on in them – it feels like more time has passed than it actually has because of everything that Megan goes through. For a large part of the book, Loki isn’t even present and I found myself wishing for the return of this cocky and cute fire giant.

Speaking of Loki: if you subscribe to Erin’s newsletter, she’ll send you chapters from his point of view. You can do so here and trust me, they are just as engaging as Frost.

All in all, I expected Frost to be good and even though the book wasn’t what I thought it would be, it was definitely good.

The sun slipped through the training room windows, reflecting off one sword in the far right corner. It was a long, slender blade, slightly curved, with a black leather grip. Reaching up, I carefully curled my fingers around the hilt, pulling it out of the metal brackets, bringing it down to eye level. The grip felt warm and natural in my hand. Deep down in the pit of my stomach, a little surge of excitement made my eyes widen. This one. It felt right.

Who I would recommend this book to?

People who love fantasy books and are not into fast romance. Note that even though there is romantic involvement, the book stresses more on the heroine’s other adventures like adjusting to her new powers and discovering who she is.

My rating: snowflake-152435_960_720 snowflake-152435_960_720 snowflake-152435_960_720 snowflake-152435_960_720 snowflake-152435_960_720 (five out of five snowflakes)

Would I re-read this book? Yes.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

Want to know a little bit about Erin? Read the interview she gave me in September!

Have you read Frost?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What I Think about Frost by Erin Latimer

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

