What I Think about Forever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel

Forever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel - cover

Forever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel

Genre: Romance

Blurb:

Brandy Curtis is a strong and independent career woman who does not care for commitment. She prefers no strings-attached, one night stands because that’s all she can give with what little free time she has. This is the life she has chosen and the life she is used to.

However, everything changed when she met Ivo, a gorgeous doctor with irresistible charm. He was just supposed to be another hookup, but he quickly became so much more. The more nights they spent together, the more Brandy felt that life had given her something to live for.

Things seemed perfect… until a visit to the doctor sends her world crashing. The timing couldn’t be worse. As her heart gets closer to Ivo, her memories begin to fade. 

Will Brandy be able to actually live her life with Ivo or will she succumb to the condition that threatens to claim her forever?

What I think of the book:

Before I tell you what I think of Forever Night Stand, I have to get something out of the way: I received an ARC (Advance Reader’s Copy) of it. For those of you who don’t know what that is: you receive the book for free in exchange of a review, but the book more often than not is not in its final form; that’s to say that the formatting could be different than it is in the final product.

Why am I telling you this?

Because the ARC was formatted poorly and although I tried to ignore it, it was bad enough to leave a lasting impression that influenced my view on the book as a whole. Mind you, I checked the book on amazon (there’s a Look Inside option) and the layout of the version they sell there seemed fine.

Forever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel - ARC ˆ ARC vs. AMAZON ˇForever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel - amazon

With that said, here’s what I think.

I love the story idea with its promise of love and hardship. Now, I’m not much into drama, nevertheless this book piqued my interest from the moment I read the blurb. I think it was the moment when we realize that Brandy and Ivo are in love, but that due to her medical condition, she might forget who he is and what they have that did it for me. So yes, even though this isn’t the type of book I’d usually read, I was interested.

Plotwise – great, execution – hmm, difficult to say.

I’ve received ARCs before, but it is Forever Night Stand that makes me realize just how important the final edit could be and how one (in this case – I) could give an ARC a lower rating than they’d give the published book.

Apart from the formatting differences, the ARC copy has a lot of unnecessary repetitions. Maybe it is the layout bugging me that makes me feel this way, but the amazon version seems to read smoother than the ARC. I still wish Ivo and Brandy had more interactions before they hopped into bed, but I’m not into fast, I-just-met-you romances with the exception of Fantasy/Paranormal books where due to magic you can recognize The One straight away.

Lastly (and I don’t know how I feel about this), the plot seems to target the young adults group, but the dialogue is more teen-orientated. If you read both YA and teen fics, I don’t think that would bother you; the reason why I’m pointing it out is because it is an odd mix, especially considering that the people having the dialogue are adults.

Who I would recommend this book to? I’d recommend it to people who are into fast, I-just-met-you-but-there’s-something romance dramas.

My rating: This book is very difficult for me to rate. The story idea is really good, the pacing – too fast for me (I’d love for there to be more details) and the ARC formatting was awful (again, it is better on amazon). I’m trying not to take the last of those into account as it is an ARC, but I just couldn’t ignore it and it took away from my reading experience to such an extent that I’m giving this story a lower rating than others probably would. With that said, I’m going to give it a 3.5 with a huge DISCLAIMER that the number is lowered because of the ARC layout which is different from the one you’ll get if you buy Forever Night Stand.

Would I re-read this book? Maybe, if there’s a sequel.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? If I get a sample from another book and the layout is good, I might.

Where can you buy the book?

Want to know a little bit about Ysa? I’ll be posting an interview with her in February!

Have you read Forever Night Stand?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

 

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

