Author Interview with Ysa Archangel (Forever Night Stand)

Ysa Archangel (author of Forever Night Stand)

Q1: Hi! How are you today?
Awesome! Though swamped with work, it’s better than doing nothing at all.
Q2: Tell us about yourself and how you started writing. Hello everyone! Just call me Ysa.  I’m a mother of three amazing kids ages ten, seven and four. A wife to a chef, a slave to a multinational company by day and a writer by night.
I started writing when I came across this wonderful read/write site called wattpad. I started out as a reader like most of us, put my thoughts into paper back in 2015 and the rest is history.
Q3: Any big achievements that you are proud of?
I am proud I landed two publishing deal last year! My recently published book titled Forever Night Stand is quite doing well on the chart.
My self-published pararomance book titled Nexus Series Book 1: Anathema and a short story titled Little Things was distributed by Buqo, a local digital bookstore in the Philippines and soon will be available to all platforms.
Q4: What kind of audience would enjoy your books? Who are they aimed at?
My books are mostly NA and Adult Romance fictions but with my Paranormal Romance novella, I attempted to target YA audiences.
Q5: What are you working on now and when will it be available?
I am working on Nexus Series Book 2: Levitica and Corvina right now and preparing for the start of the editing phase of my other novel, Underneath It All, that will be released this June under Limitless Publishing.
Q6: Are you planning any promotions or giveaways soon?
This love month I am currently giving away awesome stuff and swags to celebrate being featured on the Wattpad Block Party – Winter Edition II and the Forever Night Stand blog tour on Feb 7-13.

Forever Night Stand by Ysa Archangel - cover

Click here to enter to enter the giveaway.

Q7: Traditional or self-publishing and why?
I prefer hybrid. I am a hybrid author, publishing both traditionally and independently. I became a traditionally published author, but I knew the value of self-publishing. Now I do both: I seek out traditional pub deals, and I self-published some of my works.
In a changing market, in my opinion, hybrid publishing offers the best of both worlds such as the distribution offered by publishing houses and the ability to control all aspects of your work. I didn’t choose one path. I chose both.
Q8: What obstacles did you face when publishing?
Since, my publisher delayed the launch of my book Forever Night Stand for so long, we didn’t hit the Amazon algorithm of how they push books more when they’re newly published which is 30 days from uploading. The launch was the biggest set back. It sounds bad but we are moving forward with it and the book is now getting all the marketing, exposure and promotion it deserved. My agent and marketing team have been pushing my book so hard. I am very grateful for all their hard work.
Q9: Pen names: do you use them, do you plan to use them and what do you think of them?
Yes! Ysa Arcangel is only a pen name.
Q10: Any advice to writers who might be reading this?
Take advantage of all the publishing paths and tools available for you. Establish your goal. Write as much as you can. Publish more books. Because the more you write, the more books you sell, the more you hone your craft, the more you influence your audience and the more you become an author in the real sense of that word.
Q11: Where can people find you?

Q12: Thank you for doing this interview!
Thank you for making me part of this, Dilyana! I really enjoyed this interview.

 

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

