Interview with USA Today Bestselling Author Kelly Anne Blount

Kelly Anne Blount

A USA Today Bestselling Author, wattpad star, wattpad ambassador, and host of the Wattpad Block Party – it can only be Kelly Anne Blount.

Q1: Hi, Kelly! How are you today?

Hey! I’m doing great! Thank you so much for having me today!

Q2: Tell us about yourself and how you started writing.

Hmmm… What to tell you about me… Well, I’m married to a smoking hot Englishman who has a heart of gold. We have five fur babies (all rescues) and we live in Asheville, North Carolina. It’s super beautiful and life in the mountains is amazing! What else… What else… I’m a former Teacher of Children with Special Needs turned Director of Sales and Business Development. Outside of writing, I love to spend time with family and friends, binge on Netflix, and go on hikes with my husband!

I’ve always loved to write, but I didn’t start writing seriously/professionally until four years ago. I had just finished the Trylle trilogy by Amanda Hocking and I was completely inspired. I thought, Amanda Hocking went for it, why shouldn’t I? So, I started writing, joining writing groups on Facebook, and I found a great critique group. Within six months, I finished my first novel, Grishma. Over the next several years, I wrote Ayla and Impassioned.

CAPTURED by Kelly Anne Blount

In 2014, Apryl Baker told me about this amazing app and website called Wattpad. She told me how much she loved Wattpad and she thought it would be a good fit for me. I joined and immediately fell in love! I started writing Captured, which has since been read over 10 million times! I love to write and post my work on Wattpad. The fans and feedback are fantastic inspiration! Plus the Wattpad community is the absolute best! I’m honored to be both a Wattpad Ambassador and a Wattpad Star!

Q3: Will you share something about your published work?

Sure! I’ve written five books and three are currently published by my awesome publisher, Limitless Publishing. Captured has been picked up by Loewe Publishing House in Germany and is scheduled to be released in German in 2017. Rami Rank, from Top Ranked Pictures, has optioned Captured for film. I have some more awesome announcements to make soon as well, but those will have to stay secret for a few more weeks!

Q4: What obstacles did you face when publishing?

I’m a true believer in connections and being in the right place at the right time. Publishing can be a scary undertaking, but excellent content, a great editor, and an eye-catching cover can make all things possible.

Q5: Apart from writing books, you also organize a certain event. In January I talked about what the Wattpad Block Party is, but how did it all start? What inspired you to organize the first one?

Wattpad Block Party Winter Edition II

I love all things Wattpad and the community has done so much for me, I wanted to create a way to give back. I wanted to do something special for Wattpad readers and writers. That is how the Wattpad Block Party was born!

At the Wattpad Block Party, fans have a chance to interact with their favorite authors, participate in the Biggest Fan Contest, and enter over 100 giveaways.

This event is so special to me and I am just floored at the support given by incredible authors and readers who all help make it a successful event! THANK YOU!

Q6: Is it hard to manage an event with so many people and one that lasts a whole month at that?

Yes, it is tricky to manage! I try to keep everything super organized, but there are a lot of moving pieces and it’s a pretty big undertaking!

The Wattpad Block Party – Winter Edition II is the third and largest event that I have hosted so far. With over 100 authors, it is challenging to get everyone’s pictures and posts up the night before their feature date.

Q7: Are you happy with how the event went this February?

I am so completely thrilled with the outcome! The book has been read over 368,000 times and we have reached the top ten in the Random category on Wattpad. How amazing is that?

Also, the group of featured authors is seriously amazing! The love and support they’ve shown one another and the event is so moving, honestly, it brings tears to my eyes! I love this event so much and even though I’m always terribly sad when it comes to an end, I can’t help but get super excited for the next one!

Q8: And when will that be?

The next Wattpad Block Party is in August of 2016. It will go on the entire month of August.

Q9: Who can apply to take place in it? What are you looking for?

EVERYONE can apply! Authors, writers, readers, bloggers, editors, and cover designers are ALL welcome to apply!

You can sign up here.

Q10: Where can people find you?

EVERYWHERE! Ha ha! Just kidding… kind of!

Here’s where you can find me:

Q11: Thank you for doing this interview!

Thank you so much for having me!

3 thoughts on “Interview with USA Today Bestselling Author Kelly Anne Blount

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

