Author Interview with Debbie Goelz (Imagines, Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them, Alien Invasion: A Love Story)

Today, I’m interviewing Debbie Goelz (also known as Brittanie Charmintine), who recently got published.

Debbie Goelz

Q1: Hi! How are you today, Debbie?

I am doing well, thank you. It’s sunny and fairly warm in the Bay Area. I am a warm weather gal, so this makes me happy.

Q2: Congratulations on being published by Simon & Schuster! I’ll ask you about that in a bit, but first, tell us about yourself and how you started writing.

I began writing as a child. I wrote short stories and poems. I was the kind of kid who was happiest in her room reading or writing. My mother would have to force me to go outside. My uncle recently found a book of poems I wrote as a little girl. Some of them aren’t too awful. Then I grew up. In college I barely had time to read for pleasure. Once I graduated and passed the CPA exam, my first thought was “now I can read what I want!” The first book I read after college was Pride and Prejudice. A finance career followed. When I moved away from Los Angeles to the Bay Area, I decided to write again. I thought that I had to write something depressing and literary or it wouldn’t count. I took a lot of classes at UC Santa Cruz and UC Berkeley Extension. Attended the Iowa Writer’s Workshop. Then I gave up because the novel I was writing was so depressing. Years later, I had an accident and was laid up in bed. I decided to make lemonade out of lemons. Take another shot at writing! And this time, it occurred to me that I should write in the genres I liked to read—science fiction and fantasy. This worked much better.

Q3: What exactly is IMAGINES and what kind of audience would enjoy it? Who is it aimed at?

Imagines - Celebrity Encounters Starring You - Anna Todd, Debra Goelz, E. Latimet, Rebecca Sky, Bella Higgin, Jordan Lynde, Michelle Jo Quinn, Karim Soliman and others
Imagines: Celebrity Encounters Starring You – temporary cover

An Imagine story is a story about a celebrity written in the second person in which the protagonist is not described. The idea is that the reader imagines him or herself as being the main character in the story. In fiction, the reader experiences the story along with the characters. As devious writers, we evoke these feelings of empathy by incorporating vivid sensory detail in the narrative. An Imagine story takes the reading experience to another level by directing the story to the reader (the you character).

As far as who would enjoy an Imagine story, anyone who has fantasized about an idol. What would it be like to go on a date with your favorite celebrity? How would you like to meet your celebrity on a tropical vacation? What would happen if you and your favorite celebrity were best friends? Many people read Imagine stories. They are very popular on Wattpad. The stories in Imagines: Celebrity Encounters Starring You were written by some of the most popular authors on Wattpad, including Anna Todd.

Imagines is written for everyone—male, female, readers of all ages. The authors are a very diverse group. I think there will be something for everyone.

Imagines - Celebrity Encounters Starring You - Redirection - Debra Goelz
What happens when a girl who somehow is able to predict Zayn’s future meets her                                                           idol? Her life may never be the same!                                                      (banner by Kevin Fanning)

My story is called Redirection. It’s about a high school senior who has a very popular fanfiction story on Wattpad about Zayn Malik. She’s become famous on the Internet because much of what she writes about Zayn happens to him in real life. But her studies are suffering, and she may lose her offer of admission to Yale’s premed program unless she gives up the writing, though she loves it. Enter the real Zayn Malik who helps her discover her true direction.

I’m looking forward to reading the other stories in the book. By the way, the book is HUGE. Over 600 pages. And has a gorgeous mirrored cover.

Q4: When is the book coming out and where can people buy/preorder it?

The book comes out on April 26th. You can preorder here.

Q5: Is this the first book of yours that’s being published?

It is my first time publishing. I am really excited that it is going to be sold in bookstores, not only in the US, but in other countries as well.

Q6: What are you working on now and when will it be available?

Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them - Brittanie Charmintine & Alien Invasion - A Love Story - Debbie Goelz

Right now I’m editing Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them. I have a pending translation and publishing deal on the book in another country. I will reveal more when I can. Also, I’m editing a humorous science fiction romance called Alien Invasion: A Love Story. I’m participating in CampNaNoWriMo this April with a lot of wonderful Wattpadians. I am writing Cinderella from the point of view of the prince. It will be included in an anthology of twisted fairy tales.

Q7: Any advice to writers who might be reading this?

I have lots of writing advice in another Wattpad book called Brittanie’s Evil Empire. So check that out. But in general my advice is: write every day, write what you love, read everything you can get your hands on, learn as much about the craft as you can. Join a writing group. Edit before you post on Wattpad. Have a great cover and blurb about your book. Those are the basics.

Q8: Where can people find you?

Q9: Thank you for doing this interview!

Thank you for interviewing me. It was a pleasure!

Here’s a list of Imagines authors and who they are on wattpad:

LEIGH ANSELL (@leigh_)

RACHEL AUKES (@rachelaukes)

DOENESEYA BATES (@doeneseya)

SCARLETT DRAKE (@scarlettedrake)

KEVIN FANNING (@kfxinfinity)

ARIANA GODOY (@cold_lady19)

DEBRA GOELZ (@brittaniecharmintine)

BELLA HIGGIN (@bella_higgin)

BLAIR HOLDEN (@JessGirl93)

KORA HUDDLES (@korahuddles)

ANNELIE LANGE (@lastknownwriter)

E. LATIMER (@elatimer)

BRYONY LEAH (@bryonymagee)

JORDAN LYNDE (@xxskater2girl16xx)

LAIZA MILLAN (@laizamillan)

PEYTON NOVAK (@peytonnovak)

C. M. PETERS (@morriggann)

MICHELLE JO QUINN (@michellejoquinn)

DMITRI RAGANO (@dmitriragano)

ELIZABETH SEIBERT (@joecool123)

REBECCA SKY (@rebeccasky)

KARIM SOLIMAN (@karimsuliman)

KATE J. SQUIRES (@blondeanddangerous)

STEFFANIE TAN (@steffy_t)

KASSANDRA TATE (@famouxx)

ANNA TODD (@imaginator1d)

KATARINA E. TONKS (@katrocks247)

MARCELLA UVA (@marcellauva)

TANGO WALKER (@madametango)

BEL WATSON (@belwatson)

JEN WILDE (@jenmariewilde)

ASHLEY WINTERS (@taintedrain)

5 thoughts on “Author Interview with Debbie Goelz (Imagines, Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them, Alien Invasion: A Love Story)

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

