Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #25 – Your Sentence Formula

zbglw50

Speaking of switching it up: it doesn’t apply only to your writing routine. You should also have variety in your sentence structure. For example:

I did this. I did that. I did this other thing as well. I was happy with the outcome.

Even if you replace “this” and “that” with some exciting activity, the sentences would be boring. Why? Look at the example again – they all follow the same formula.

I + verb + something

Sounds like a list, doesn’t it?

Switch up the formula of the sentences; give them a different rhythm. Use passive voice, for example. I know a lot of people say it is a sign of bad writing, that it doesn’t sound as strong as active voice, but sometimes it is necessary. In this case you can even combine the sentences, getting rid of the repetition:

While I was doing this and that, I also did that other thing and was happy with the outcome.

So, combining sentences, using passive voice… Whatever you do while you edit, make sure that you don’t end up sounding like a robot.

One thought on “Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #25 – Your Sentence Formula

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

