What I Think about Hopelessly Imperfect by Gabriela Cabezut

Hopelessly Imperfect - The Imperfect Series Book 1 by  Gabriela Cabezut

Hopelessly Imperfect The Imperfect Series Book I

Genre: Romance

Blurb:

Cancer is a beast. 
It’s ugly, savage, and has no mercy.
 
Cassie learned this all too well while watching her mother slowly deteriorate, one agonizing day at a time…
 
With the desire to make her mother’s last year the best it can be, she works to be the perfect daughter. Every character trait, witty joke, like and dislike—Cassie molds herself to be what her mother would love most.
 
But in the end, it still isn’t enough…
 
After years of pretending, Cassie has no idea who she really is. When her mother slips away, Cassie falls into a deep depression, and thoughts of suicide become her most pressing threat. After a failed attempt, she seeks help, and is eventually able to return to life at home.
 
Going through senior year as the girl whose mom died sucks…
 
With her father picking up the pieces of his own heart, and Cassie back in school, she’s able to make a few new friends—one of them being Nathan Rivers. A little quiet, strong, and with inner demons of his own, Cassie can’t help but be intrigued. And as she grows closer to Nathan, the reasons for their mutual attraction slowly unveil.
 
Pain sometimes feels impossible to cope with. It’s consuming, saturating, and all-encompassing.
 
As Cassie and Nathan struggle to heal, can they learn to forgive and accept the past, and possibly find happiness in being Hopelessly Imperfect…?

What I think of the book:

The first 3% (or so my Kindle app tells me) of the book felt like one long, long exposition. I know we were supposed to get to know the character and her problems, but those are already told in the blurb and we are constantly reminded of them throughout the book. If you ask me, the content of those first 3% could easily be cut in half.

I’m glad I kept reading though as the story got much better.

I’ve said before – in other reviews and in messages with those of you I talk to on wattpad – that I’m growing out of the Teen Fiction genre. I no longer feel that keen or writing or reading stories in it.

Hopelessly Imperfect got me back into the genre.

Maybe it’s because the book isn’t just a boy meets girl story. The characters have to deal with a lot of real drama, not just regular teenage problems – although those are there as well – and you get to see Cassie and Nathan change throughout the book.

The female lead cries… A lot. If you know me, you’d know I don’t like heroines who cry all the time. But she is going through so much that in this book, it would seem odd if she didn’t.

The male lead is someone with emotional baggage of their own and I just love how the two characters try to help each other out through their troubles.

The side characters are those some of you might have a problem with as they can be stereotypical. I personally have nothing against stereotypes or clichés as long as they are needed in the story and in the case of Hopelessly Imperfect they provide one of the subplots, so I’m okay with them.

Who I would recommend this book to? I’d recommend Hopelessly Imperfect to people who enjoy Teen Fiction Romance books and are not sensitive about stories covering themes of loss or illness.

My rating: drop-159527_960_720 drop-159527_960_720 drop-159527_960_720 drop-159527_960_720 drop-159527_960_720.2 (The writing is more of a 4, but since I got giddy about the characters, I’m going with 4.5 out of 5 teardrops)

Would I re-read this book? If I get the rest of the series, I’d probably re-read Hopelessly Imperfect to remind myself of the characters.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? I’m thinking about getting Book II once it is out.

Where can you buy the book?

Have you read Hopelessly Imperfect?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “What I Think about Hopelessly Imperfect by Gabriela Cabezut

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

