Author Interview with Monica Sanz (Finvarra’s Circus)

Monica Sanz

Today I’m interviewing Monica Sanz – author of Finvarra’s Circus, who forms the popular wattpad4 along with Rebecca Sky, Erin Latimer and Leah Crichton.

Q1: Hi, Monica! How are you today?

I’m great, thank you! Super excited to be here. Thanks for having me!

Q2: My pleasure! Tell us about yourself and how you started writing.

I’m a music loving, writing obsessed mom of three. I write romance all across the board, from paranormal to sci-fi to fantasy. Words have always fascinated me, so growing up I was always either reading or writing. I don’t remember a time when I wasn’t doing one of those things. I started taking writing a bit more seriously a few years ago after I joined Wattpad. When I started sharing my work and people actually started reading it, it made publishing seem like a possibility. I’m a part of the Wattpad4, a group of authors who host weekly Twitter chats on all things writing every Monday at 8 PM ET. I’m also co-host of the Sugar and Spice vlog on YouTube where we discuss writing, books, and life!

Q3: Any big achievements that you are proud of?

Writing wise, I’m most proud of my journey as a whole so far. It’s hard to pick just one moment because I think they’re all linked and grow/build off one another. For instance, at the moment, I’m ecstatic about the upcoming release of Finvarra’s Circus which has been such a long road to publication, but smaller achievements along the way helped me stay positive when I was feeling depressed and like I’d never publish it.

finvarrafinal

Q4: I’m currently reading the Finvarra’s Circus ARC and I’ll be posting my review on it this Thursday. In the mean time, why don’t you tell our readers what the book is about and when it’s coming out?

Finvarra’s Circus will be released on June 30th on ebook and paperback. It’s a fantasy romance inspired by the Irish folktales of King Finvarra and Ethna the Bride. This is the blurb:

Finvarra’s Circus is coming to town, and Leanna Weston is determined to see it. Everyone knows once the circus leaves, the fairest girl in town is found dead, deformed, and heartless. Rumors say it’s the handsome ringmaster, Finvarra, who steals their beauty and their hearts, but this means little to Leanna. Her heart is damaged and failing her. Surely he won’t want it. She sneaks into the circus, but caught by Finvarra, he gives her a choice: become their tightrope walker or die.

Leanna accepts, and now a part of their strange family, she learns that Finvarra never meant to harm her. He needs her to stay. An ancient curse binds the troupe to their circus. They must perform forever or perish. To break the curse,Finvarra must die, and only the famed muse, the Leanan Sidhe, can kill him.

Finvarra believes he’s found his muse in Leanna, and Leanna can’t deny the growing attraction between them. But not everyone wants freedom for the circus and they’ll kill any girl suspected of being Finvarra’s inspiration.

With her life and the circus’s on the line, can Leanna sacrifice her love to free the troupe?  Will her feelings for Finvarra be their demise? Or will her heart fail her when she needs it the most?

The book is currently on sale and you can pre-order it here.

We’ll be having a book release party on July 2nd. You are welcome to join us on facebook. Just click here.

Q5: I know I’m going to that party! But let’s get back to your work. What kind of audience would enjoy your books? Who are they aimed at?

Anyone who likes to read! I write romance which is typically geared toward women, but I’ve been told by some men that they’ve enjoyed my books so honestly, if you love a good story that makes you feel, then my books are for you.

Q6: What are you working on now and when will it be available?

I’m working on a few things. I’m revising my sci-fi novel at the moment so I can send it off to my awesome agent. I also have another fantasy novel waiting in the wings so as soon as I’m done with revisions, I can jump into that. As for when it’ll be available, I have no clue. Hopefully I’ll have something new on Wattpad soon. At the moment, I’m posing my fantasy romance, NETHER, so that’s also part of my crazy schedule.

Nether by Monica Sanz (DistantDreamer on Wattpad)

Q6: Which do you think is better: traditional or self-publishing? Why?

I don’t think one is better than the other. It all depends on which one the writer wants and is comfortable with. There are pros and cons for each option, and it just all depends on the writer and the book as well.

Q7: Pen names: do you use them, do you plan to use them and what do you think of them?

I do use a pen name. I think it’s great for many reasons. Personally, I like to keep everything separate so that’s why I decided to use one.

Q8: Any advice to writers who might be reading this?

Don’t give up. It’s cliche, I know, and I get sick of hearing it myself sometimes, but we were given this gift of writing for a reason. I don’t think the desire to write and the countless hours we spend on our craft is for nothing. It’s meant to reach someone and help them in some way.

Regardless of what other people say or what other people are achieving, write what you love and what you feel driven to write. Stay focused on your path. The grass always looks greener on the other side, but don’t worry about other people’s yard, focus on your own. If you’re constantly focused on the successes of others and you’re watching them water their yard, your own grass is going to wilt and wither and die. So get to work, water your dream constantly by writing the next book and the next one after that, and forget about everything else. This is your yard, your grass. Let other’s worry about their own.

Q9: Where can people find you?

Q10: Thank you for doing this interview!

Thanks so much for interviewing me!

 

5 thoughts on “Author Interview with Monica Sanz (Finvarra’s Circus)

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

