Tuesday Tiny Writing Tips #37 – Comparing Yourself

Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #37 by Dilyana Kyoseva (CatMint5 on wattpad) - Comparing Yourself

In What the First Week of NaNoWriMo has Thought Me I told you not to compare yourself to others, but do you know who you should compare yourself to?

Yourself. Compare yourself to your past and desired future self. Analyze what you’ve previously done and think of what you can do today to be better in the future.

When was your biggest success? What were you doing then? When was your biggest failure and what went wrong? Is there a particular word or chapter goal you want to achieve and what could get in the way?

Here’s an example with me and my writing.

There was a time I updated my ongoing wattpad story every week and now I fail at weekly updates.

What changed?

Well, for starters, I began simultaneously uploading two stories. I’ve also started this blog and a few months ago I became a wattpad ambassador so I work on some ambassador projects.

What can I do to go back to more frequent updates?

I’ve been working for a couple of months on that. First, I prioritized my projects. We are the Answer is my main wattpad story so if I don’t have much time to write, I make sure I work on that one. Then comes my blog with two or three posts a week, then my ambassador duties, then my other ongoing wattpad story. I’ve also temporarily stopped hosting contests until I can make the time to read and judge the entries.

Results.

More frequent WATA updates, managing my blog post quota and working on an ambassador project I’ll announce here later on. All that with less stress than before.

Can I do better?

Sure! I’d like to update This Girl Just Wants to Have Fun more often and host contests again.

How can I do that?

This month I’m concentrating on the Dogs, Bats & Monkeys series. Once I work out the timeline for that and get a clear concept of what I want in each book and in the series as a whole, I’ll be able to make room for my other writing projects.

I could also schedule my time by setting aside one day for each of my projects. That’s actually what I’m thinking of trying out this August.

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

