What I Think about Kitsune by Nicolette Andrews

Kitsune - Book One of Tales of Akatsuki by Nicolette Andrews

Kitsune – Book I of the Tales of Akatsuki series

Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Japanese Folklore

Blurb:

Rin is a Kitsune, or at least she was until a witch’s spell turned her human. To regain her powers, Rin must make the lord’s son fall in love with her before the next full moon. She thought it would be easy, her kind have been seducing humans for centuries. But Hikaru is different. He’s handsome, intelligent, and kind –the opposite of everything she’s assumed about humans. The plan is to seduce him and get back her powers, there’s no room for love. 

Hikaru never believed in the Yokai. In fact, he thought it foolish to believe in monsters. A lifetime of skepticism has guarded him from truths too painful to accept. And Rin’s mysterious arrival in his life challenges all his long held beliefs. She has bewitched him. Though he is drawn to her, he has to keep his distance. His father’s treaty depends on his marriage to another and even an innocence dalliance could ruin everything.

While they try to deny their attraction, they are drawn together as if by fate’s design. Falling in love is dangerous. Not only are they from different worlds, but their time together can only end in heartache. To break the spell Rin must betray Hikaru or be turned into a fox. But if they’re willing to risk it all, they may find a love to last lifetimes.

What I think of the book:

I won Kitsune in a raffle during its facebook release party, which was quite some time ago. I was ecstatic when the package was delivered. Why wouldn’t I?

The plot sounded amazing, the cover was gorgeous, I got two bookmarks, a quote card and… The author had signed it for me!

Kitsune_signed

I was too busy to read it at the time and I set it aside. I even read and reviewed two other books by Nicolette before I got to Kitsune.

However, when I was packing my bags for my vacation earlier this month, I was like “I’m so taking this book with me” and boy, I’m I glad I did!

The sun and I do not like each other. I block it with glasses and it retaliates by burning my shoulders. You know, making them all red and itchy. That meant that a seaside vacation for me was to get up, eat, go to the beach for an hour or two and come back to the air-conditioned hotel room until it was time to go out for dinner.

And what did I do while I was chillin’ in the room?

I read. A lot.

And here comes my first complaint about Kitsune: it was over too soon. It was such an amazing, enjoyable book that even a slow reader like me read it in two days. Okay, three, but that was because I purposefully saved the last couple of chapters for another day.

Let’s start from the plot. A Japanese-inspired tale about love, secrets and yokai (they are supernatural beings) – what’s not to love?

There were plenty of things going on to keep you engaged, all the subplots met at the end and fit together beautifully.

It followed not only the main characters, but also some side ones and we got to see (briefly, but see) the Dragon, who is a main character in another series by Nicolette – the Dragon Saga.

And speaking of characters: I just love the main one – Rin. I find her amusing and she always manages to get in trouble, so you won’t get bored when she’s around. She’s definitely my favorite in this book and is one of my favorites in The Priestess and the Dragon, even though she’s a side character there.

The rest of characters are also pretty good.

I had some problems with the male lead – Hikaru, annoying me a couple of times, but that wasn’t because he wasn’t written well; it was because of his personality. He’s definitely not the toughest guy out there, but hey, at least I’m looking forward to him becoming stronger in the next books.

IMG_1824 - Copy (2)

I also really enjoyed Rin’s friend- Shin, who got in trouble at the end of the book and I really hope Rin finds a way to help him out in this series, preferably in Book II.

And now that we are at the end – this is the second thing I didn’t like about the book.

Well, I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t like it either.

The last chapter was a wrap up. That’s actually a good thing, but when you are going through a story like Kitsune with so many things happening, with everyone constantly doing something, characters popping up and leaving, the end chapter where the climax has passed and we just see the characters adjusting to their new circumstances seems slow.

I’m glad it’s there, I’m glad I got to read it, but compared to the rest of the book, it’s slow.

The book is still a really enjoyable read though. No wonder it recently reached #1 in Fantasy and #2 in Fairy Tales on amazon.

Who I would recommend this book to? I’d recommend Kitsune to everyone who loves Fantasy Romances, fairytales and Japanese culture.

My rating: maple leaf for Kitsunemaple leaf for Kitsunemaple leaf for Kitsunemaple leaf for Kitsunemaple leaf for Kitsune (5 out of 5 maple leaves)

Would I re-read this book? Yes. I want the rest of the series and I’ll be re-reading this book before I read Book II.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Yes. Well, obviously, since I said I want the rest of the series.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you directly to the book)

Note: At the time I’m posting this, the Kindle version of Kitsune is FREE.

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

Want to know a little bit about Nicolette? Read the interview she gave me!

Have you read Kitsune?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

If you enjoy my reviews, you can always support them by clicking on the Like button and sharing them on social media.

5 thoughts on “What I Think about Kitsune by Nicolette Andrews

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

