What I Think about Kissing the Enemy by New York Times Bestselling Author Helena Newbury

Kissing The Enemy - A Russian Mafia_Italian Mafia Romance by Helena Newbury

Kissing the Enemy by New York Times Bestselling Author Helena Newbury

Genres: Crime Fiction, Romance

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

He’s New York’s most notorious Italian Mafia boss. She’s the niece of a Russian Mafia kingpin. 

Angelo 
– From the first time I see Irina dance, I can’t get her out of my head. She’s an ice princess with an accent that makes me crazy and a body that makes me want to do bad things to her. Then I discover she’s the niece of my greatest enemy.

Irina – From the first moment Angelo looks at me, I’m helpless. He’s blood and fire and red-hot lust. I run: he chases me down. I put up ice: he melts right through. Then I discover who he is. Being together is unthinkable: I’d be betraying my family; he’d be betraying the mob. But neither of us can fight the attraction. And when our relationship sparks a war that threatens to tear New York apart, we may be the only two people who can stop it.

What I think of the book:

Love at first sight – you know I’m not a fan of that unless in fantasy/paranormal novels where a certain species is magically able to recognize The One from the first time they glance at their future significant other. This was what initially threw me off the story, granted it was mostly lust at first, but it quickly became “there’s something more here”… Too quickly.

That aside, I don’t really have much to complain.

There was one line about how Russian men thought sex should only bring pleasure to them and women should just dutifully tolerate it, which is something I can’t really see applying to a whole nation; there were also a couple of other slightly annoying generalizations, but nothing major enough to put me off the book.

The story reminds me of Romeo and Juliet, but in a modern, mafia-ruled world and without the two not-so-bright teenage leads, so in that aspect Kissing the Enemy is better.

The… Erm, lovemaking scenes were nothing to make me blush, but nothing to make me roll my eyes at, so congrats, Helena! These parts had almost been a deal breaker in some of the last books I’ve read (I haven’t reviewed them yet), but not in yours.

The thing that I liked the most in this book was the description. At times the dialogue lost me, but the descriptions always got me focused back on the book. And the best part?

Kissing the Enemy is told from two POV-s – Irina’s and Angelo’s – and the author uses a slightly different vocabulary for each narrator. Even if you forget whose name was written at the start of the chapter to indicate the POV, you’d still be able to tell in whose head you are.

And that is something a lot of authors fail at – they make their narrators sound too similar – so another brownie point for that to Helena.

My second favorite thing was the stakes. The really, really high stakes for each individually and once they got together.

Humans are supposed to be logical, rational beings, but we are also emotional.

This book illustrates very well the continuous battle between the rational and the emotional. The characters know that they are doing wrong, but they are too emotionally involved to take a different path.

Kissing the Enemy by Helena Newbury - Quote 2

Even after Angelo finds out who Irina is, he still wants to be with her although he knows he shouldn’t; even after he finds out she hates gangsters and he knows he should tell her he is one, he can’t, because he wants her.

It’s interesting to see for how long the two main characters are going to fight their emotions and what’s to become of them once they give in.

Last brownie point is given for the fact that the characters’ feelings for each other grow once they get to know each other. Unlike with the whole lust/potential-love at first sight, I’m buying the chemistry after their first date. I also enjoy how they gradually discover things about each other. For example, Angelo hadn’t heard Irina laugh before he’d admitted how much he needs to be with her despite knowing who her uncle is. Why is that a big deal?

It shows us progress in their relationship. It shows us how much Irina values Angelo’s honesty and how she is now ready to open up to him.

It’s a small detail, but it’s in the right place so it leaves a big impression.

Who I would recommend this book to? Obviously, I’d recommend Kissing the Enemy to people who love stories with high stakes, where everything could backfire at the characters at any given time.

My rating: ballet dancer_pink_small ballet dancer_pink_small ballet dancer_pink_small ballet dancer_pink_small ballet dancer_pink&grey_small (4.5 out of 5 ballet dancers)

Would I re-read this book? I might.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Probably.

Where can you buy the book?

Note: Kindle and paperback editions available.

Have you read Kissing the Enemy or anything else by Helena?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

 

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

