What I Think about Sire by Jex Lane

sire-beautiful-monsters-vol-2-by-jex-lane

Sire Volume Two of the Beautiful Monsters series

Genres: Fantasy, LGBT Literature

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

Still mending a broken heart, Matthew has spent a year avoiding incubi and their army of hunters.

Now he has a new goal: lift the shroud on his past. Why had he been turned and abandoned by his sire? Why didn’t he feel the initial bond between sire and child that vampires experience? Who were his parents, and why had they given him up at birth?

Frustrated by dead ends, his luck changes when a teenage girl tracks him down. She’s strange, socially awkward, and she can see the future. Matthew’s future. She’ll help him if he agrees to save her from the darkness…from Tarrick.

With the incubi armies closing in, a mysterious protector appears, swearing his fealty to Matthew. He’s ancient, seductive, and cursed—unable to explain why he keeps calling Matthew ‘my prince’.

What I think of the book:

When I started Sire, I thought it would be just like the first book in the Beautiful Monsters series, but it’s better.

To those of you who’ve read Captive and are hoping for the trend of lots and lots of sex to continue: nope. Now that Mathew is no longer with the incubi, there are less naughty scenes, but just like with the books, the quality has improved. So less sex, but better sex.

As for the story: it’s developing smoothly. We find out who sired Mathew (who turned him into a vampire), but that only raises more questions, so the main character still have some answers to search for. This isn’t the only plotline though.

Because of the war, he has to battle feelings for more than one person – not all romantically or sexually involved with him – and the stakes are high. In order to protect someone he loves, he has to put another in danger.

We go through less of an emotional rollercoaster than in Captive, but Sire still provokes strong feelings in me and I can’t help but feel bad for Mathew and all he goes through. I’m also attached to several of the incubi/succubi and a certain kitsune who fights on their side so having them battle against Mathew and his new allies makes me worried about both parties involved in the conflict…

And then Jex Lane had to introduce a third party.

Because Mathew didn’t have his plate full already.

Ladies and Gentlemen, we are battling demons in Sire.

And I don’t mean metaphorical ones.

I mean hideous, bad-ass corporal creatures who want to kill my beloved characters. They present a real threat and I would’ve said that I wasn’t happy with the situation, if only they didn’t go so well with the plot. I’m not going to give you details because I try to keep my reviews spoiler-free, but these nasty sons of a you-know-what push the story forward with their second appearance. Not sure how this will play out in the long run (a.k.a. Volume III), but I’m glad the author included them in Sire.

And speaking of the different volumes (two are out already): this is not a series you can read as you please. The books are tightly connected so you should start with the first, then go for the second. Neither will disappoint.

Who I would recommend this book to? Obviously to those who enjoyed the first volume – Captive.

If you haven’t read it and are looking for a series with battles, sex and emotional struggles, check out both of the Beautiful Monsters book.

My rating: ballmaskballmaskballmaskballmaskballmask (5 out of 5 masks)

Would I re-read this book? Yes!

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Yep.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

Have you read Sire?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

8 thoughts on “What I Think about Sire by Jex Lane

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

