November To Be Read List & To Review List

november-to-be-read-list-to-review-list

When it comes to the books I planned to review in October, I’ve succeeded; I even managed to add What I Think about Sire by Jex Lane to my schedule, although I received the ARC at the last minute. However, when it comes to the books I planned to read without reviewing… Oh, boy; not so good. That’s why I’m going to make more humble To Read and To Be Reviewed lists for this month.

To Be Reviewed.

I’m going with one definite and one if-I-have-the-time review.

  • Her Dangerous VisionsSong of the Worlds, Book 1 by Brandon Barr.

her-dangerous-visions-song-of-the-worlds-book-1-by-brandon-barr

This is a Fantasy story about a girl who – as you’ve probably guessed by the title – has visions and has to battle against an ancient evil, set on conquering her world. This is the book that I’m definitely going to review this month. Expect to find out what I think about it two weeks from now, on Sunday, November 20.

  • The second book – the maybe-I’ll-review-this-month – is The Age of Mages by Ilana Waters.

the-age-of-mages-book-i-of-the-mage-tales-by-ilana-waters

You might be familiar with the title from my Freebie Friday – November 4 – 3 FREE Paranormal Books This book is still FREE to be downloaded from amazon and you can do so here. I really like the blurb and I am going to review this book, the only question being whether I’ll have time to do so this month or not. I mean, how long can I put off a book about a sexy vampire mage who has to fight a formidable foe?

Now, for my To Read list.

A couple of days ago, I got two very interesting books from a place called The Book Depository. It’s an online shop that I’ve gotten more or less addicted two for three reasons:

  1. I can order books that are not available in my country;
  2. They have a discount section (the Bargain Shop) and sometimes offer discount coupons;
  3. FREE WORLDWIDE SHIPPING!

Shipping to my country is a HUGE problem for me because it would usually cost me a sum near (or maybe even exceeding) that of the book I want to order. So, yeah, once I found out that I don’t have to pay for the shipping, I ended up ordering fourteen books in the space of about three months.

The free shipping is totally worth the 10-14 days I wait for delivery. You might even have to wait less, depending on which country you live in.

Anyway, the two books that I bought, already started – just to check them out – and plan to finish before the end of the month are…

  • Blood Song – Book 1 of Raven’s Shadow by Anthony Ryan.

blood-song-book-1-of-ravens-shadow-by-anthony-ryan

A pretty cover – it looks even better when you are holding the paperback – for a book that hooked me from the first page. Battles and a toughened warrior, destined for greatness with a blurb that’s enough to pick my interest, but also vague so I don’t really know what to expect even though I’ve read it and the first chapter.

  • Pigs Have Wings – a Blandings Castle novel by P.G. Wodehouse.

pigs-have-wings-blandings-castle-by-p-g-wodehouse

From feats on the battlefield, we move to the feats of butlers and the war between Englishman and their fat pigs. Filled with Brittish humor, this story about a Fat Pig contest, pig snatchers, a not-so-clever Lord and his very clever butler will probably go right next to Aunts Aren’t Gentlemen in my list of favorite Woodhouse books. This is the first one I read in English instead of in my native tongue (my mother has quite a collection of this author’s works in Bulgarian) and I’m delighted to say that buying it in the language it was originally written in was worth every penny and would’ve been worth its money even if the book wasn’t discounted.

  • And since I couldn’t finish my two Skulduggery Pleasant books in October, I’m adding them to my November To Read list.

skulduggery-pleasant-skulduggery-pleasant-playing-with-fire-books-i-and-ii-of-the-skulduggery-pleasant-series-by-derek-landy

What about you?

What are you reading this month?

Similar posts:

 

3 thoughts on “November To Be Read List & To Review List

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

