What I Think about Silent Signs by Ana Simons

silent-signs-by-ana-simons

Silent Signs by Ana Simons

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Blurb:

“Remember that day when you came up with the dumb idea that I should write a book? One of those where people kiss in the rain, get all wet in the wrong places and risk catching an awful cold, but are so caught up in each other they’re oblivious to everything else around them? I laughed at you really hard, didn’t I? Well, guess what? I’m telling you that story now.”

Sophie missed the silent signs and her life fell apart. Now she will tell us her story, the story of the unexpected end of her marriage, and of an inner journey that becomes an emotional roller-coaster ride, full of highs and lows, twists and turns. She won’t be alone, though. She is destined to cross paths with Matthew, the intriguing man who wants to help her put all the scattered pieces back together. Or maybe he wants to rescue himself from his own troubled waters. The thing is, is she ready to let him in? If not, is he ready to let her go?

What I think of the book:

To sum it up, Silent Signs isn’t amongst my favorite books this year, but it’s still something I’m glad I had the chance to read.

The book  starts at a very emotional moment for the female lead. You’ll have to wait for a couple of chapters to find out exactly what’s going on, but you can see the results of what she’s going through right in Chapter One. Her emotional state catches the eye and leaves an impression on Matthew – our male lead.

At first I didn’t really like the guy, he was giving me a creepy stalker vibe. If he and Sophie kept meeting out of chance – not very believable, but more my style; instead, we have him emailing her, calling her on the phone and approaching her in the lobby when she didn’t know who he was because she was such an emotional wreck when they first met on a plane, she didn’t remember he’d been the one sitting next to her.

Later on, I discovered some good characteristic he had so I warmed up to him.

There were two things I wish were better in the book.

The first is the dialogue. We have some very interesting scenes while we are in the head of the character, but the dialogue between Sophie and Matthew seemed forced when they first met. Well, when Sophie first noticed him more like it since only Matthew talked on the plane and it was one or two sentences that Sophie didn’t bother trying to reply to as her thoughts were on more pressing matters than her seatmate helping her with her luggage.

So yes, I wish the dialogue in the first chapters was better.

The second thing was that the book had too many places where the author just enlist a bunch of things the main characters do instead of show us how they did them. I wish there were more details in those moments and I know this author is capable of good descriptions since I’ve read those in this book.

But as I said, even with the things I didn’t like – and isn’t there something we dislike in every book? – I still found Silent Signs an enjoyable read that was less engaging than an epic fantasy or a thrilling action story. It’s one of those books that girls and women would pick up when they come home back from school or work and just want to relax, but aren’t in a mood for a cosy mystery or a humor story.

Who I would recommend this book to? I’d recommend Silent Signs to people who are looking for a fast romance they can read over the weekend.

My rating: a-couple-holding-hands a-couple-holding-hands a-couple-holding-hands a-couple-holding-hands a-couple-holding-hands-grey (4 out of 5 couples holding hands)

Would I re-read this book? Probably not, but it’s a book I’d remember.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? I might.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Want to know more about Ana? Read the interview she gave me last week!

Have you read Silent Signs?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

