What I Think about Blood or Destiny by Angela Stevens

blood-or-destiny-a-black-walker-warrior-novel-by-angela-stevens

Blood or Destiny – a Black Walker Warrior novel

Genre: Native American Fiction

Blurb:

Blood and Family ties run deep but when Destiny comes calling, which do you choose?

Becoming an adult is never easy, but Eva Vargr faces a unique challenge. Caught between two cultures that historically despise each other, Eva struggles to please the two most important men in her life.

For her brother, Rune Vargr, the answer is simple. Eva must embrace her Lycan side, keep to her own kind, and stay safe under his protection.

But Eva has different plans. Her grandfather’s band of vigilante Skin Walkers have fascinated her since childhood. As Eva turns twenty-one, she falls in love with a young warrior, Pilan. When Eva’s powers blossom, he encourages her to join the Black Walkers and fight by his side.

What I think of the book:

The book starts off with something I very much appreciate and I can only describe as a dictionary of the characters. Now, while I don’t think that it’s necessary for every book to introduce who is who and who they are related to, I like the transcription that follows each name. To be honest, I’d only pronounce a couple of them right, if it wasn’t for that; to be perfectly honest, I still find myself mispronouncing some of the names because I think they should be read in the way I read them, instead of the way they are transcribed.

Blood or Destiny is a spin-off of the Vargr Clan trilogy and I expected to feel the same way about it as I did to The Wolf You Feed (Vargr Clan, Book 1). I like BOD much more though; as a matter of fact, I like it the most of all Angela Stevens books that I’ve read.

I find the characters far more relatable than the ones in The Wolf You Feed, even those of them that are in the book for a short while. I enjoy the more casual tone in which Blood or Destiny is written and I think the action scenes are better in BOD. It was somewhere in the beginning – Chapter 3 or 4, I believe – that I had that irregular thud-thud in my chest that accompanies a particularly gripping scene and I involuntary glanced forward into the book, wishing to know if things would somehow magically get better for the character who was in a predicament.

I also like how Angela has expanded the universe her books take place in by adding new, fascinating characters with the most interesting supernatural abilities, once again weaving Native American folklore with an interesting plot of her own design.

Who I would recommend this book to? First, I’d recommend Blood or Destiny to people who’ve read and enjoyed The Wolf You Feed.

After that, I’d recommend it to people who haven’t read the Vargr Clan books as Blood or Destiny could be read on its own. If you enjoy Native American culture or books with people who are not exactly human, yet go through some very human emotions and insecurities, then check it out.

My rating: owl2owl2owl2owl2owl2 (5 out of 5 owls)

Would I re-read this book? Yes.

Would I buy other books in this series or by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

Want to know a little bit about Angela? Read the interview she gave me last year!

Have you read Blood or Destiny?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “What I Think about Blood or Destiny by Angela Stevens

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

