What I Think about The Otto Digmore Difference by Brent Hartinger

the-otto-digmore-difference-by-brent-hartinger

The Otto Digmore DifferenceThe Otto Digmore Series, Book I

Genres: Contemporary Gay Fiction

Blurb:

“Road trip!”

Otto Digmore is a 26-year-old gay guy with dreams of being a successful actor, and he’s finally getting some attention as a result of his supporting role on a struggling sitcom. But he’s also a burn survivor with scars on half his face, and all indications are that he’s just too different to ever find real Hollywood success.

Now he’s up for an amazing new role that could change everything. Problem is, he and his best friend Russel Middlebrook have to drive all the way across the country in order to get to the audition on time.

It’s hard to say which is worse: the fact that so many things go wrong, or that Russel, an aspiring screenwriter, keeps comparing their experiences to some kind of road trip movie.

There’s also the fact that Otto and Russel were once boyfriends, and Otto is starting to realize that he might still have romantic feelings for his best friend.

Just how far will Otto go to get the role, and maybe the guy, of his dreams?

What I think of the book:

The Otto Digmore Difference – I thought it was an interesting title, but I didn’t realize just how clever it was until I was maybe a third into the book.

I finished The Otto Digmore Difference pretty quickly. For one, it was a short book (well, compared to what I’m reading lately, anyway); it was also a very smooth read.

I interviewed the author before I started to read his book and I ended up expecting a more complicated writing style, maybe something that would even prompt me to google a few words and phrases. Well, I didn’t need to do that. I didn’t manage to resist googling Gold Bond body powder, but that was out of curiosity, not need.

What I’m going at is that Brent’s style isn’t as complicated as I expected or fancy; it’s simple and impactful, and very pleasant to read.

The characters are interesting and relatable, and no, I’m not saying this just because Otto and I are the same age. We are very different, yet I felt an instant connection to the guy. And you know how it is: if you bond with the characters, you’ll enjoy the book, even if the plot is a cliché… Which is not the case here.

I’ve read stories about people with disabilities and scars before, so I’m not going to claim that part as original, even though it’s not common; what makes this story memorable for me is the fact that I didn’t have a clue where it was going.

The Otto Digmore Difference is not one of those novels that you start reading and you know how it will end. It’s not even one of those books, in which you can guess where the characters will be when you get to the middle of it. I couldn’t predict whether there will be a happy conclusion or not, not for Otto’s audition, nor for his relationship with Russel. I couldn’t even tell what kind of relationship the two men would be in by the end of the book, let alone figure out whether that would be a good thing or not, especially given the fact that Russel had just gotten married and seemed happy with his husband. So even if Otto did end up in a more-than-just-friends relationship with Russel, that still wouldn’t have been a “and they all lived happily ever after” moment.

That was one of the reasons why I was hoping they wouldn’t end up together (not telling you if they did or didn’t; read the book), the other one being that I thought Otto might be a nice pair with another male character, although I didn’t know whether that character was even gay.

And speaking of characters: Mo. She was there for just a few chapters, but I loved her. She was funny and she also helped Otto in a way; I’m glad the two of them met. I think it was something both characters needed.

Who I would recommend this book to?

I’d recommend The Otto Digmore Difference to people who like journeys. I’m not just talking about road trips; I mean to people who enjoy the characters going on an emotional journey, on something that makes an impact on their life.

I’d also recommend the book to people who are more into movies than books. Odd, perhaps, but while I was reading, I kept thinking how well this book would morph into a movie.

My rating: The Otto Digmore Difference - car The Otto Digmore Difference - car The Otto Digmore Difference - car The Otto Digmore Difference - car The Otto Digmore Difference - car (5 out of 5 convertible blue cars)

Would I re-read this book? Yep!

Do I want to read other books in this series or by this author? Yep, yep, yep!

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Other books by Brent that I’ve reviewed:

Want to know a little bit about Brent? Read the interview he gave me!

Have you read The Otto Digmore Difference?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

5 thoughts on “What I Think about The Otto Digmore Difference by Brent Hartinger

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

