Bookstagram – Guest Post by Sarah, a.k.a. the Bohemian Blogger

Sarah - @bookgirlingmoments on Instagram

Hi, everyone, it’s so good to be back on Cat’s blog again. She’s awesome, one of the first few people that I followed on Wattpad. I’m Sarah mostly known as @HSH_DeathStar on Wattpad and today, I’m going to be talking about Instagram, more specifically the Bookstagram community. 

If you’re a reader and you haven’t heard about this, you have no idea what you’re missing out on. Bookstagram is a bookish community on Instagram (no shocker there) that posts photos of books and talk about them in their captions.

I hopped onto the bookstagram train on exactly 25th April 2016 and it’s almost been a year for me since. I started out not knowing how to take pictures at all and posted some really cringeworthy shots. Please, do not scroll down to the bottom of my feed, it’s a mess.

I’ve also been guilty of over-editing my photos to the point they hurt your eyes. But overtime, I’ve been practicing and I’ve improved a lot.

If you’re interested and want to join the awesome nerdy community, you have to understand that it’s an open invitation. Anyone can join and there’s no judgement at all, all the people that I’ve met on there are so heart-warming. Like Alex from @thebooksbuzz and Clara from @thebookwormofnotredame.

Bookstagram - @thebooksbuzz and @thebookwormofnotredame

But what if you think that your photography skills suck or you don’t have the experience?

So what?

I started out with zero experience myself, I promise you. Taking selfies annoyed the crap out of me (still does) and I never used my phone’s camera. But once I started to experiment, I got better at it and I started to love it. Everyone starts somewhere.

So that’s a little backstory of how I got into Bookstagram and the whole photography thing. I’d like to talk now about how I maintain my Instagram feed.

Firstly, I use the Preview app for editing all my photos and I use the app for planning my future photos as well. Preview is just awesome that way and it has a lot of great features too. It has a feature that allows you to doodle on your photos too and I had a completely separate app just for doodling. I deleted that app after I found out that Preview now offered that feature too.

Anyways, that’s enough gushing about the app. Moving on, I’d like to tell you that I use natural lighting in all of my photos. That gives me the best results and I avoid artificial lights at all times, they just don’t have the same effect.

The last point that I’d like to make is to have a certain color palette in mind when you’re taking photos. If you like darker colors more, stick to a dark, monochromatic theme. If you’re all sunshine and bright colors, then by all means go for a theme that literally looks like a rainbow threw up on your feed. Everyone has a different style, so don’t be afraid to show it off.

As for me, you can see from my photos that I have a light minimalistic tone in all of them.

Bookstagram - @bookgirlingmoments

I’ve always been attracted to images that have a lot of empty space, something that’s so simple and quiet, it’s bold. It stands out and it doesn’t need to do much. I just love that kind of vibe and so I try to incorporate that in my shots.

Bottom line is that you can use Instagram to define your style, your personality and that your photos will reflect the kind of person you are, so think of it as a personal portfolio.

This has been the Bohemian Blogger and until next time.

Get in touch with Sarah here:

2 thoughts on “Bookstagram – Guest Post by Sarah, a.k.a. the Bohemian Blogger

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

