Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #76 – When Wattpad Notifications about Chapter Uploads Aren’t Working

Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #76 by Dilyana Kyoseva (CatMint5 on wattpad) - When Wattpad Notifications about Chapter Uploads Aren't Working

Like any other site (or app), Wattpad is not immune to bugs and glitches. Some time ago there was a glitch with their notification system and when an author you followed uploaded a chapter, you didn’t get a notification like you were supposed to. I had PMs from readers, asking me when I’ll upload (let’s say) Ch. 15, when in fact I’d already uploaded it and Ch. 16. You know what I did?

Noticing that the notifications on comments were still working, I started tagging my more active readers (the ones who voted and commented on each chapter) in the first comment of every new chapter I posted. The glitch, bug or whatever it was is gone now, but I’m tagging my readers to this day, just in case.

My advice to you is to give this a try and see how your readers take it. So far I haven’t had complaints about it. In fact, the only time a reader complained was when I stopped tagging her because she hadn’t commented in a while and I thought she was no longer interested in my story and stopped reading it (turned out, she’d had exams and no time for Wattpad).

If you do try this, write a little explanation the first time so people won’t wonder why you tagged them. This is also a good opportunity to say “thank you”: after tagging my readers, I write something amongst the lines of “Thank you for reading and commenting on the previous chapters! I hope you’ll enjoy this one!”.

So, give this a go, and feel free to swing by and tell me how it went for you!

One thought on “Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #76 – When Wattpad Notifications about Chapter Uploads Aren’t Working

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

