What I Think about The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt

The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt

The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt

Genres: LGBT Romance

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

Dr. Mikhail “Misha” Budnikov takes one look at fellow fencer Ryan O’Connor and instantly knows his type. The undisciplined hothead is all ego with no finesse and even less control. In short, Misha’s pet peeves personified. To put the arrogant kid in check, Misha challenges him to a sparring match, which he predictably wins.

Not so predictably, Ryan asks him to be a mentor and show him how to fence. Startled by the moment of humility, Misha agrees.

What begins as fencing lessons becomes something much hotter, and before they know it, Misha is giving Ryan an entirely different kind of education. Dominance, submission, pain, pleasure—at the hands of an older, experienced man, a whole new world is opening up for Ryan.

As the trust deepens and their bond strengthens, though, Ryan retreats because that sham called love left him jaded long ago. Cynical beyond his years, he’s not letting his guard down, least of all for a thrice-divorced man twice his age.

Now Misha has to find a way to crack through those defenses…or accept defeat and walk away from the submissive who might just be the love of his life.

What I think of the book:

I admit: I had my reservations when I picked The Master Will Appear ARC.

It promised sex scenes and those are often the most difficult to write. It also promised BDSM and I’ve actually stopped reading potentially good novels because of how badly it was represented. Not that the authors were purposefully trying to pin it as a bad thing, but because what they were trying to pass off as BDSM was anything but.

To my greatest relief (and pleasure), L.A. Witt was not one of those authors.

We have Misha constantly asking Ryan if he (Ryan) is okay and if he is cool with what they are doing. The sub’s safety – both physical and emotional – is very important to those in the BDSM community and it’s the Master’s responsibility to ensure it so right off the bat, L.A. Witt got a hefty amount of brownie points from me.

I also enjoyed something that’s less common in the BDSM books I’ve read before. They usually put emphasis on the collar and its meaning while in The Master Will Appear kneeling took the centre stage. This was a pleasant surprise for me and it ties in wonderfully with one of the last chapters (don’t worry: I won’t give you a spoiler on how it ties in).

All in all, I was very happy with how the sex scenes had turned out, and not just because of the BDSM aspect; they were well-written, not too glossed over, but also not so detailed that you just roll your eyes and think “Do you have to describe in detail even the slightest motion each makes?”

So, good sex scenes, but does the rest of the novel live up to them?

The answer is yes.

I very much enjoyed the whole novel, even the fencing lessons and I’m not interested in reading about fencing. There were no “I can’t wait for these scene to end so I can get back to the good stuff” moments; everything is the good stuff. There’s the occasional humor – not so much the situations, but the clever way the characters speak, the grounding moments where a character goes through something difficult, and the sweet “ooh, he’s there for him” moments. It’s a very realistic story and I can totally see it happening to real people, not characters.

However, I do have a complaint: repetitions.

Conclusions the characters reached about each other are sometimes repeated several times in a short span, as if to remind the reader. I probably wouldn’t have noticed this if I was reading one – or even two – chapters a week, but since I read every day for a few days, it made an impression on me.

That aside though and a couple of sentences that contradicted each other (this could be fixed in the final version of the book), I enjoyed myself while reading The Master Will Appear.

Who would I recommend this book to? I’d recommend The Master Will Appear to everyone interested in BDSM, but also to those who are looking for a read centered on a relationship with balance and understanding. Those of you who like novels about learning to trust and open up will enjoy this one as well.

My rating: The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt - sword The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt - sword The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt - sword The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt - sword The Master Will Appear by L.A. Witt - sword (5 out of 5 swords)

Would I re-read this book? Probably.

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Have you read The Master Will Appear?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

