What I Think about Crescendo by Lana Sky

Crescendo by Lana Sky

CrescendoBeautiful Monsters, Book I

Themes & Genres: Adult, Suspense, mafia, kidnap, torture

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

You don’t become the fiancé of one of the most powerful crime lords in the city without understanding exactly how gritty and depraved the world truly is… and how to thrive in the inferno.

After five years spent under his controlling thumb, Daniela knows her position with a man like Vincent Stacatto is precarious, but as long as she plays by the rules of his “game”, she’s safe…

 Until she’s taken by the devil.

Kidnapped by a rival boss, Daniela becomes a pawn between two powerful forces, and just another casualty in a bloody game of chess. But to get to the top, and stay at the top, you have to fight dirty and hold nothing back, because the most dangerous piece on the board isn’t the King.

What I think of the book:

Oh, boy.

If I had to describe Crescendo in three words, they would be “dark”, “dark” and “dark”.

This novel is most definitely not for those readers who are faint of heart.

Brace yourselves, people! We are diving in deep into a dark, cold pond and I’m afraid we might’ve forgotten our diving gear.

Toxic relationships are not something I enjoy reading and yet, I find myself turning the pages of a novel full of violent and twisted characters, two of which are bound together with a most dangerous connection, a connection that’s unhealthy to say the least.

And yet, it somehow make sense.

Daniela and Dante… I’m not even sure how to describe how messed up they are on their own and together. They are like two warped pieces that fit with each other to form a macabre puzzle. It’s been a while since I’ve read a novel – or a short story, or a novella, for that matter – in which I both wanted and didn’t want to see the characters together at the end. It would be difficult to explain why that is without giving you spoilers, so I’m going to leave it at that.

As for the world they are in: it’s so refreshing – in a messed up kind of way – to see a mafia novel where the violence isn’t glossed over. Sure, mafia and crime novels in general have some extend of violence in them, but man, there isn’t a chapter in Crescendo that goes without it, giving us all the gory details, from the physical effects to the psychological ones.

This novel is one tense, tiring, thrilling journey, where no one’s safe and everything can and will go.

Who would I recommend this book to? I’d recommend Crescendo to anyone who is not afraid to take a stroll in a darkened alley and to those who’d prefer to stay in the safety of their homes, getting their thrills while curled up with a book in their hands.

My rating: Crescendo by Lana Sky - Cello Crescendo by Lana Sky - Cello Crescendo by Lana Sky - Cello Crescendo by Lana Sky - Cello Crescendo by Lana Sky - Cello_half (4.5 out of 5 cellos)

Would I re-read this book? Maybe.

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

The links will take you straight to the book on each site.

Add Crescendo to your Goodreads shelf.

Want to know a little bit about Lana and her work? Read the short interview she gave me!

Have you read Crescendo?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

 

One thought on “What I Think about Crescendo by Lana Sky

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

