Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #84 – Reach Your Word Goal

Tuesday Tiny Writing Tip #84 by Dilyana Kyoseva (CatMint5 on wattpad) - Reach Your Word Goal

Okay, so one way to reach/up your word goal is what I did in my Productivity Project (read what that is here and the outcome of it after one month here); here’s another way to help you achieve that: find a partner to hold you accountable and cheer you on.

This can be someone from your family, a friend, or a fellow author; they can live in the same house/apartment as you, or at the other end of the world. When you announce your goals, you are more motivated to reach them, especially when you are aiming for something along with a partner. If you don’t know other writers, join an online group.

There’s one on Facebook called Sprinters United, and the sprints in question are writing sprints. Someone proposes one at a certain time and for a certain time (“I’m starting a one-hour sprint in 45 minutes; anyone wants to join me?”) and everyone in the group can participate. I don’t join often mainly because of time zone differences, but I’ve had some productive days exactly because I’d replied with “I’m in” to someone’s “Wanna sprint?”

With Camp NaNo upon us, this is a good time to test this tip out!

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

