What I Think about The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

The Magpie Lord - A Charm of Magpies, Book 1 by K.J. Charles

The Magpie Lord – A Charm of Magpies, Book 1

Themes & Genres: LGBT, Historical Romance, Victorian, magic

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

A lord in danger. A magician in turmoil. A snowball in hell.

Exiled to China for twenty years, Lucien Vaudrey never planned to return to England. But with the mysterious deaths of his father and brother, it seems the new Lord Crane has inherited an earldom. He’s also inherited his family’s enemies. He needs magical assistance, fast. He doesn’t expect it to turn up angry.

Magician Stephen Day has good reason to hate Crane’s family. Unfortunately, it’s his job to deal with supernatural threats. Besides, the earl is unlike any aristocrat he’s ever met, with the tattoos, the attitude… and the way Crane seems determined to get him into bed.

That’s definitely unusual.

Soon Stephen is falling hard for the worst possible man, at the worst possible time. But Crane’s dangerous appeal isn’t the only thing rendering Stephen powerless. Evil pervades the house, a web of plots is closing round Crane, and if Stephen can’t find a way through it—they’re both going to die.

What I think of the book:

I feel so lucky to have read several amazing books lately. The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles is one of them.

I started to read this for pleasure, not because the author sent me an ARC, but as soon as I opened the file on my Kindle app and went through the first few pages, I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist talking about this book with you.

The old-timey feeling that I love is there; the amazing characters are there; the good relationships, the atmosphere…  And the humor. Oh, the humor!

I really hadn’t expected so many chuckles, and giggles, and loud laughs from this book, but I got them in different quantities from situations only hinted at or mentioned to guffaws over a few paragraphs as a time. I was especially hooked on the conversations between Lucien (Lord Crane) and his servant and more or less babysitter Merrick. The latter of the two not-exactly (actually, not at all) gentlemen absolutely cracks me up.

But you are probably wondering about the chemistry between Lucien and Steven, you know, with them being the main characters.

Don’t worry: K.J. Charles has got us covered.

I absolutely loved how the two of them change through interacting with each other. As for their naughty time scenes: no complaints there either, although I’m not sure how one of those scenes worked out due to the difference in their heights. As someone who is a lot shorter than their significant other (actually, Steven and I seem to be the same size), I’m not sure one of the positions was possible, but that aside, the sex scenes were on point.

So, you are probably wondering if there are things I disliked about the book.

Well, it’s a bit difficult to explain without spoilers, but I’m dead set on not giving you any, so I’ll try. Steven is presented as an astute character throughout the book and yet towards the end, he missed several important details that got him and Lucien in hot water. The author gives the explanation that Steven was distracted by Lucien, but I didn’t buy that. Yes, he was distracted, but given how he’d acted up until that point, he shouldn’t have been that distracted. It seemed out of character and given that it was the reason for the final showdown to play out the way it did, it felt like a plot device move on K.J. Charles’ part.

But this is honestly the only thing I can think of when I try to remember a weak point in The Magpie Lord and given that overall reading that book was a more than satisfactory experience, I can’t even bring myself to lower the rating I’m going to give because of this.

Who would I recommend this book to? The Magpie Lord is perfect for people who love magic and humor and want strong chemistry between the characters.

My rating: The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles - Magpie Rating The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles - Magpie Rating The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles - Magpie Rating The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles - Magpie Rating The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles - Magpie Rating (5 out of 5 magpies)

Would I re-read this book? Yes!

Am I interested in other books by this author? I want all the books in the A Charm of Magpies series.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Add The Magpie Lord to your Goodreads shelf (link takes you straight to the book)

Have you read The Magpie Lord?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

One thought on “What I Think about The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

