What I Think about Flame by Erin Latimer

Flame - Frost Chronicles, Book 2 by Erin Latimer

FlameThe Frost Chronicles, Book 2

Themes & Genres: Fantasy, Norse Mythology, war, magic

Blurb:

After fleeing a mad Queen and taking shelter with the fire jotun, Megan Walker goes from ice to inferno, as she deals with court politics, hidden enemies and a radical cult determined to make her their goddess. All of this with the ultimate battle looming on the horizon. A prophesied war that Megan may be the deciding factor in, is only weeks away. That is, if she even makes it that long.

What I think of the book:

Note: I keep my reviews spoiler-free, but since this is Book 2 in the series, some of my comments will mention small events from Book 1. I still won’t give you major spoilers from it though, and there will be none from Flame.

The book starts off with our characters on the run and seeking shelter from a witch. Even though the opening scenes are filled with scenery, we get an action scene pretty quickly.

This is the first thing I saw improved on from Book 1: the action scenes. It makes the book more engaging and a much quicker read, although, if I’m not mistaken, it’s actually shorter than Frost. I haven’t checked the number of pages on each book, so I could be wrong on this one; maybe it really is because this book was more engaging for me.

There’s more of an intrigue as loyalties are challenged and tested. Megan often finds herself wondering who she could trust and depend on.

We are introduced to a new character – Kiera, the witch. I thought her interesting right away and I think other readers would agree with me. She is actually responsible for a prophesy that spurred things into action in the first book and she has an important role here.

As for the main characters: Loki is charming as ever, Megan is still insecure as her journey to self discovery continues.

Something I didn’t like: there’s development on the Megan/Erik front (not saying which way it took) that seemed a bit rushed to me. I’m going to leave it at that because there’s no way to say more on the matter without going into spoiler territory.

Who I would recommend this book to? I’d recommend Flame to Fantasy and mythology lovers. If you enjoyed Frost, then you are going to enjoy this book too.

My rating: Flame - Erin Latimer - Rating.1 Flame - Erin Latimer - Rating.1 Flame - Erin Latimer - Rating.1 Flame - Erin Latimer - Rating.1 Flame - Erin Latimer - Rating.1 (5 out of 5 flames)

Would I re-read this book? Maybe.

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Are you interested in hearing an excerpt from Flame, read by Erin herself? Yes? Click here.

Where can you buy the book?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Add Flame to your Goodreads shelf (link takes you straight to the book)

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

  • Frost – The Frost Chronicles, Book 1

Want to know a little bit about Erin? Read the interview she gave me!

Have you read Frost or Flame?

What did you think of them?

Share in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “What I Think about Flame by Erin Latimer

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

