Author Interview with Anne Marie Andrus (Monsters & Angels)

Author Anne Marie Andrus

Q1: Hello, Anne Marie, and welcome to my blog! How about we start with you telling us a little bit about yourself? How and when did you start writing?

Hi, Dilyana! Thank you so much for hosting me on CatMint5’s World. I’d like all your readers to know how much I appreciate the encouragement you’ve given me over the past year.

My full-time career has been as a member of the critical care team in a busy trauma center, working the night shift. The job is exhausting, uplifting, heart-wrenching, rewarding and ultimately a privilege.

Over the past thirty years, I’ve often thought that I had more to share – more to give, but could never put my finger on what was next. In the aftermath of Super Storm Sandy, I was searching for a way to fight the seasonal depression that comes along with being a night-shift worker in the winter months. I decided to write a “story”. I had no idea that this story would become a full-length novel.

As a new indie author, the process of submitting my manuscript for review and promoting my own work was terrifying. Dilyana was the first blogger that I emailed, requesting a review of Monsters & Angels. She was so kind and supportive; she offered me an opportunity to guest-post on her blog in March and now this fantastic interview spot!

Q2: Who are your favorite authors?

Before I began writing my own novels, I loved to read Stephen King and scare myself silly. I also enjoyed Nelson Demille, specifically Plum Island. I need to catch up on both these author’s latest works.

In the vampire/supernatural genre, I fell in love (and lust) with New Orleans after reading Anne Rice’s The Witching Hour.

Q3: Anne Rice – great choice! Anyway, what are your biggest achievements? You can include professional and personal ones.

In my professional (hospital) life, I’ve been blessed with fantastic co-workers everywhere I’ve worked. They’ve encouraged me to return to school and complete my degree, allowed me to be a textbook reviewer and nominated me for a state award, which I actually won. That award was all about trust and teamwork.

Go team!

In my author life, just finishing, editing and pressing the publish button on Monsters & Angels is an achievement. It seems surreal. Let me pinch myself… Okay, still hasn’t sunk in.

In the past year, I’ve also had the great fortune of placing second in the Word Weaver Writing Contest with two different stories. The first was The Crescent, which is actually Chapter 2 of Monsters. The other winner is the planned first chapter of an upcoming work, Cobalt Point.

I’m honored to be a contributing author of the scary story anthology, The Box Under The Bed. Both Cobalt Point and a new story, Three Seconds of Grace, are featured in this anthology of twenty tremendously talented authors. Just in time for Halloween, The Box Under The Bed, edited by Dan Alatorre, is available now!

Q4: Tell us a little bit about Monsters & Angels. What kind of audience would enjoy the book? Who is it aimed at?

Monsters & Angels is a vampire romance set in 1930’s New Orleans. The story follows the adventures of twenty-two-year-old, Sorcha Alden in her quest to honor her family’s heritage. Just days after graduating from nursing school in New York City, she suffers a tragic personal loss. Her journey takes her across the country to New Orleans, over the Pacific Ocean on a charity medical mission, and into the brutal jungles of Nepal. Sorcha stumbles into a brilliant love affair one night and the path of a deranged killer the next.

Upon her return to the Crescent City, she faces the challenge of starting life over as a newborn vampire as well as navigating a cutthroat underworld of vicious rivals and jealous ancestors.

My target audience for Monsters is anyone who enjoys the paranormal, loves the twisty-turny drama of a big cast of characters, or yearns for an escape into the sultry streets of the French Quarter.

Q5: What can we expect from you in the future? A sequel? A prequel? Or maybe an entirely new project?

My future projects include a nearly finished prequel called The Vampire Raimond and a sequel with the working title, Blood & Diamonds.

My entirely new project will be the completion of Cobalt Point.

Q6: Who is your biggest supporter and what would you like to say to them?

I’ve had so many incredible supporters during this process, I don’t want to leave anyone out. I have a long list and I’m thanking each one, face-to-face.

My biggest and strongest supporter is my husband Scott, who listens to all my rants, rolls with the ups and downs of a first-time author… and vampires. He is learning to love the vampires.

Q7: If you could give other authors one piece of advice, be it about writing, editing, promoting or increasing their audience, what would it be?

Write the story that delivers the escape you crave!

Keep it fun!

Don’t let anyone derail your dream! Don’t be denied.

Dilyana, thank you again, for your support.

Now, I would love to interview you for my blog!

Q8: Thank you for doing the interview, Anne! And now, for some additional info:

Where can you buy Monsters & Angels?

  • amazon.com (link takes you straight to the book)

Where can you find Anne Marie?

 

5 thoughts on “Author Interview with Anne Marie Andrus (Monsters & Angels)

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this:

