What I Think about The Scouts by Kasia Bacon (Review and a Picture Teaser)

The Scouts – The Order, Book 3

Themes and genres: Fantasy LGBT Romance, elves, warriors, archers

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

Lochan and Ervyn—an assassin and a sharpshooter—remain in service to the Queen as part of an elite reconnaissance unit.

The Scouts are ghostlike. Elusive. Deadly.

They strike at enemies of the Crown without mercy. They get the job done, leaving no loose ends or witnesses. When Magic Supremacists threaten the safety of Elven Country, they do their duty—whatever it takes.

Lochan and Ervyn belong to each other, but will serving together as comrades-in-arms strengthen their bond as lovers or tear them apart?

The Scouts is the third book in the Order Series. In this volume, Ervyn loses control, Lochan stops fighting his feelings and Verhan… well, remains Verhan.

Recommended reading order: The Mutt, The Highlander, Twenty-One Arrow Salute, The Scouts.

What I think of the book:

Another fantastic short read by Kasia Bacon where my only complaint seems to be that it was over too soon.

While this isn’t the end for Kasia’s The Order series, the books are rather short, making you wish there was more so you can indulge in the captivating journey that her works provide. I was so happy to see our boys again – two characters I was hooked on from the first page of the first book – even though their creator put them through an emotional wringer.

No, this is not a light, happy read; it’s a short story in which the characters go through a whole lot. I don’t mean only in regards to their feelings; unlike in The Mutt and The Highlander Lochan and Ervyn are no longer trainees, but a part of the elite Scouts unit, which sets a slightly different tone than that of the previous books.

With that warning, I’ll end this brief review which I summarized in the very first sentence: my only complaint is that my dose of Lochan and Ervyn was too small.

Who would I recommend this book to? I’d recommend The Scouts to those who’ve enjoyed Kasia’s previous works, especially The Mutt and The Highlander.

My rating: 5/5 order symbols

Would I re-read this book? Yes.

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

Add The Scouts to your Goodreads shelf

Other books by Kasia that I’ve already reviewed:

  • The Mutt – The Order Series, Book 1 (Fantasy LGBT Romance, elves, warriors, archers | Mature Content)
  • The Highlander – The Order Series, Book 2 (Fantasy LGBT Romance, elves, warriors, archers, competition | Mature Content)
  • Twenty-One Arrow SaluteThe Order Series, Book 2.5 (Fantasy LGBT Romance, elves, archers, novella | some Mature Content)
  • Don’t Fight the SparkSoldiers and Mercenaries, Book 1 (This book can be read as a standalone | Fantasy LGBT Romance, healer, pit fighter | Mature Content)
  • When I First Saw RedSoldiers and Mercenaries, Book 2* (This book can be read as a standalone | Fantasy LGBT Romance, mates, military/army, warrior, artist, hooker | Mature Content)
  • Rago – An Order Universe Short Story (standalone | Fantasy, LGBT, gay, shifters, dragons, soldiers, military/army, short story, fated mates, forced proximity | Mature Content | Audiobook review | Narrator: Michael Fox)

Want to know a little bit about Kasia? Read the interview she gave me!

Have you read anything by Kasia?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

9 thoughts on “What I Think about The Scouts by Kasia Bacon (Review and a Picture Teaser)

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this: