What I Think about Haven by Morgan Brice

HavenMagic Emporium, Book 12

*Note: This book can be read as a standalone

Length: 60K

Themes and genres: Paranormal, Mystery, supernatural, detective, psychic, hurt/comfort

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

Old secrets, hidden psychics, secret shifters, ghosts, scandals—and true love.

A series of long-ago disappearances leads cold case private detective Austin Williams to investigate a troubled sanitarium. Jamie Miller is new in town, temporarily running the local historical association, and he willingly signs on to help solve Austin’s mystery. Sparks fly between them as they dig into the hospital’s troubled past. But someone wants the past to stay buried—and is willing to bury Austin and Jamie to keep it that way.

Haven is part of the Magic Emporium series. Each book stands alone, but each one features an appearance by Marden’s Magic Emporium, a shop that can appear anywhere, but only once and only when someone’s in dire need.

This book contains explicit scenes, action, mystery, hurt/comfort, geeks in love, supernatural secrets, a brave historian and a lovelorn private detective, plus a guaranteed HEA. It is loosely connected to my Fox Hollow series.

What I think of the book:

Haven by Morgan Brice is the twelfth book in the Magic Emporium  series, but thankfully – for me, as I haven’t read the others – each piece is an individual story so I didn’t feel lost at all. A few characters from Morgan’s other books make an appearance, again without confusing those of us unfamiliar with the rest of the author’s work, but no doubt as a treat to her fans.

As a first-time Morgan reader, I found the author’s writing style chill and pleasant, something to relax with after a long day even with the tension in a couple of the chapters. Yes, there’s some violence, but nothing too gruesome.

The two main characters are interesting and relatable, each with their own secret. The only complaint I have about them is that they seem somewhat obsessed with each other. It’s a quick romance with instant attraction that gets a little bit too much as every other thought one of the leads has is about the other MC.

Who would I recommend this book to? I’d recommend Haven to people who enjoy their paranormal romance with a bit of mystery and a hint of action.

My rating: 4/5 ghosts

Would I re-read this book? Probably.

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

Add Haven to your Goodreads shelf

Have you read anything by Morgan?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this: