What I Think about the Audio Version of A Body in a Bathhouse by Brad Shreve

Today’s review won’t exactly follow my usual format. Why?

Because I reviewed the e-book version of A Body in a Bathhouse back in 2019 and I’m only going to (very!) briefly share my thoughts on the audio. If you want to know my opinion of the story itself or how it’s written, you can read about it here.

But before we kick off the audio review, here’s some info on the book.

A Body In A Bathhouse – A Mitch O’Reilly Mystery, Book 1

Author: Brad Shreve

Narrator: Theo Sinclair

Themes and genres: Mystery, Contemporary, LGBT, detective, PI

Blurb:

Nearly bankrupt, wise-cracking private investigator, Mitch O’Reilly, divides his time accepting any investigation gig that comes his way, while half-heartedly running his Eye Spy Supply shop in a forgotten Los Angeles strip mall.

Two tours in Afghanistan have left Mitch a broken man whose social life amounts to enduring his fun-loving sister, Josie, and hooking up with anonymous men he meets online. That may change when he gets his big break. A beloved comedy scriptwriter is murdered at a bathhouse, and Mitch is hired to prove the innocence of the club custodian. In addition, the flirtatious club manager, Trent Nakos, has Mitch reexamining his belief that there should be no emotional entanglements associated with sex.

While Mitch investigates the bathhouse murder, he learns there’s more to investigate than just a dead body. He must choose between continuing a case that could finally put him on the map or drop the case to protect the one he loves.

My thoughts on the narration:

Male narrators often aren’t the best when it comes to female roles; at first, I thought this will be the case here, but I actually liked how Theo Sinclair voiced Mitch’s sister even though it’s much softer than I imagined her to speak. I also imagined Mitch with a gruffer voice; this one seems almost feminine at some points which was a bit off-putting. Expression-wise, I wouldn’t give the narrator 5/5, but he’s still not bad and has a very pleasant voice. This book makes me consider checking out what else he’s worked on.

My rating for the narration: 4/5 blood drops

Get the book on Audible or add it to your Goodreads shelf

One thought on “What I Think about the Audio Version of A Body in a Bathhouse by Brad Shreve

✎ Don't be shy. Tell me what YOU think about this: