What I Think about Upsy-Daisy Dom by Tanya Chris

Upsy-Daisy Dom – Hell’s Bedroom, Book 3(final book)

Themes and genres: MM Contemporary BDSM Romance, LGBTQ+, crime, lawyer

WARNING: Mature Content

Blurb:

It’s really rude to wish you’d been kidnapped. Especially when your best friend actually was. But Tripp wishes something would happen to him. He likes his sex kinky, and he likes his kink on the fun side of risky. Which means he’s got his eye on Sebastian Gage, the incredibly handsome, incredibly rich, incredibly dangerous Dom.

Sebastian makes subs cry, and he’s not sorry about it. He is sorry that his penchant for emotional sadism means none of his playmates ever stick around, but he’s not going to let any of his new-found friends know that. All they know is that he’s a cruel Dom and a brilliant attorney. And right now it’s time to concentrate on the brilliant attorney part instead of getting sidetracked by a gangly young sub with a smart mouth and a penchant for danger.

Sebastian will do anything to make sure the perp who’s been targeting vulnerable subs in a human trafficking scheme gets what he deserves. Maybe even sacrifice Tripp, the only one who can take everything Sebastian has to offer. The only one who’s ever stuck around.

This is the final book in the Hell’s Bedroom series.

What I think of the book:

Smiling. So much smiling.

And I’m not talking about the characters; I meant myself, while reading this book.

Although the characters were also smiling… Maybe not what you’d expect in a book with a particularly sadistic Dom, but it works. But before I get to what I enjoyed – well, sum up what I enjoyed, otherwise this is going to be a really long review – I had a couple of qualms about the content.

First, the first adult scene.

There was no discussion of limits.

I know Sebastian is an experienced Dom and good at reading people, but this still rubbed me the wrong way.

Second, Trip’s mindset. He’s way too much of a rush seeker for it to be healthy. We later see it’s not just any rush that he’s after and him having limits puts my mind to rest, but I felt somewhat uneasy at first.

I know that there are sane people out there who enjoy what he does, but until those scenes where  we found out he wasn’t just after whatever makes him feel a certain way, I was worried about his mental state.

And that segues into the things I enjoyed in the book: I worried about Trip the same I would worry about a real person because he felt like one.

Both he and Sebastian are like real people I’d want to get to know which makes me interested in their story. Plot-wise, this is a continuation of the previous two novels – wrapping them up nicely as a final book should – but because these two were the main characters, I actually felt more invested than with Kitchen Sink Dom and Chicken Soup Dom, which, if you read my blog, you’d know I really, really liked.

Lastly – and not really part of the review, but I still want to mention it – there’s a free Hell’s Bedroom extra on Tanya’s site. It takes place after the third book and while it’s a good sample for what the series has to offer – minus the crime subplot – I suggest you read it after you finish the novels. It’s a very let’s catch up with your favorite characters moment – two of them, mostly – so it’s more for already established fans than new readers.

Who would I recommend this book to? I’d recommend Upsy-Daisy Dom to those who have not only enjoyed the previous two books, but would like a more… Intense continuation.

My rating: 5/5 pairs of handcuffs

Would I re-read this book? Yes!

Am I interested in other books by this author? Yes.

Where can you buy the book?

Add Upsy-Daisy Dom to your Goodreads shelf

Other books by this author that I’ve already reviewed:

  • Kitchen Sink DomHell’s Bedroom, Book 1 – MM Contemporary BDSM Romance, LGBTQ+, crime, detective
  • Chicken Soup DomHell’s Bedroom, Book 2 – MM Contemporary BDSM Romance, LGBTQ+, crime, police officer, abduction
  • Aiming High – MM Contemporary Sports Romance, the Olympics
  • You, Me & Her – M/M/F Contemporary Romance, poly
  • Manners & Mannerisms – Adult MM Regency Romance, Historical Fiction
  • Long HaulWorking Stiffs Anthology – Short Story, Paranormal, vampires

Want to know a little bit about Tanya? Read the interview she gave me!

Want to know more about the Hell’s Bedroom series? Here’s a Q&A about it!

Still not sure if the series is for you? Here’s an exclusive extra from Upsy-Daisy Dom!

Have you read anything by Tanya?

What did you think of it?

Share in the comments!